The joy of Utensils

When I was at the Elms Catering College, Stoke-on-Trent, 1978-80, I was in a cohort of about twenty students who each had to buy a set of chef’s whites and a wrap of knives and implements prior to enrollment. We tended to have our names sewn into our clothes and engraved onto our knives so as to know whose was which when it came to having a mass scrap before clearing up after a frantic service in the training restaurant (opposite the North Staffs Poly campus, pints of mild for 30 pence at lunchtime). I still have my ten inch chopping knife which, to be true, won’t really take an edge now how ever much you hone it, but my favourite item is my flexible spatula which has served me for turning omelettes and loosening the edges of pancakes for thirty years. I’d be lost without it.

I may put up a picture later.

And now, Ladeeys n Genelmen (drum roll) the blog gives it up for…

These fragments I have shored against my ruins; still though, you don’t always see how beautiful an object is until you transform it into another medium

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The joy of Utensils

  1. Daftburger says:

    Riveting stuff, I can hardly weight! :-/

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    Prescient; very prescient.

  3. OS says:

    Here’s one.

  4. George S says:

    Hold on to it. You could sell it to an American university if the need arises. (Nice typography too.)

Comments are closed.