Amazing quite simply amazing

I was at the Essex University campus in Colchester for the last couple of days and was directed to the library specifically to see this device called a Paternoster (in the Catholic Church the Lord’s Prayer, especially in Latin) but in this definition a lift consisting of a series of linked doorless compartments moving continuously on an endless belt. You have to time your moment for hoping in and out and some people (like the lady on reception) won’t go in it at all because it freaks them out. If you stay on board to the top you travel over the apex and come back down the other side which takes you by surprise the first time I can tell you. And then if you stand on a floor taking photographs of it with your Blackberry some, but not all, students will wave at you. It fairly radiates jouisssance. What I can’t comprehend, and what I mean by the title of this post, is that Health and Safety allows it to exist on a University Campus.

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Amazing quite simply amazing

  1. Chiffs says:

    And as with rosary beads, a continuous loop . . . where sometimes you also have to “time your moment for hoping in and out” [sic]

  2. Chiffs says:

    ps: I should add that the rosary can also be ‘continuously moving’, and I’ve even seen it radiate jouisssance!

  3. anjali says:

    I think I saw one at Leicester Uni last year. I noticed no jouissance though, none at all.

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    Hmm; perhaps you were standing in the wrong place?

  5. Lee Wright says:

    Yes I’ve been on the one at Leicester Uni when my mate was a student there. It’s fun once you’re on it but a bit tricky getting off.

  6. shep207 says:

    I just looked for it on YouTube and it looks like a few uni’s have them..
    What happens if you stick a leg or arm out as it’s changing floors? Does it have a mechanism to stop it if there is any resistance??

  7. OS says:

    >What happens if you stick a leg or arm out as it’s changing floors?

    With some of the kinky buggers there is around, Shep, it isn’t an arm or a leg I’d be thinking might get trapped. 😉

    I’m with you winger. How Health and Safety haven’t banned this thing is beyond my ken. Given that The Council have banned ladders around here because a bloke in Hull fell off one and hurt himself, I would have thought that contraption was a cert for their mashinasians. 🙂

  8. OS says:

    Ps. A silly thought has just come to me: what would TTB make of it? 🙂

  9. Stephen Foster says:

    I don’t know; but just to be on the safe side DON’T DO THAT!

  10. Stephen Foster says:

    I would like to see your Massive confronted with that thing. Hours of endless fun: imagine the hide and seek opportunities \o/

Comments are closed.