I’ve been meaning to say for quite some while

If you’re ever round this way you can get a bowl of mushy peas for your lunch at Norwich market. With or without mint sauce, plus a hunk of bread for mopping up.

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’ve been meaning to say for quite some while

  1. Daftburger says:

    What are the pies like and are they real mushy peas, obviously not when mint is on them?

    When I was in the RAF I asked for mushy peas in the Airmen’s Mess. To my delight they put them on on a major scale and it was battered fish night as well, heaven!

    Unfortunately the next time they put them on they were infused with mint sauce! 😦

    Now we all put vinegar on mushy peas, well we do if we’re normal, but I want the quantity to be my decision!

  2. OS says:

    I bet it stinks something rotten around that shop! 😦

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    Define real mushy peas; I seldom eat pies as they do not fit on a canapé so I can’t say.

  4. Daftburger says:

    Ones that re soaked ever night with a mysterious white tablet. Then boiled and the skins skimmed off the top. Be careful not to burn!

    I watch Masterchef me even though I hate Greg the Greengrocer and his medieval eating style. I mean he can’t even hold a spoon properly!

  5. markelt says:

    Greg Wallace is known as a notorious spanker in the pubs in Clerkenwell what I have been known to frequent.

Comments are closed.