Calling Stoke City Cognoscenti

Comments please. Nb. As all the world are Stokies at heart, then all the world may feel free to speak on this matter too [Emotional Cup Final emoticon here].

This entry was posted in And She Laughed No More, The Final and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Calling Stoke City Cognoscenti

  1. Daftburger says:

    I’m glad you said all the world could comment as I fort this was only for eyetalians them being cognitivesenti, etc.

    Do you want me to be truthful or Emperor and his new clothesish?

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    Daftburger I think you have already said your truth there but I would be delighted to hear the full outcry 🙂

  3. Daftburger says:

    I’ll be the little child, although no one has commented and said it’s good, who’ll let the Emperor know so he can change it before anyone else sees him with no clothes, by clothes I mean talent, on!! 😀

    It’s a mixture of Orange, Red and fucking PINK*!

    The bottom bit with the triangle mingling into the white** looks like a tornado of impending doom. What this painting says to me, no screams out to me, is doom, doom, doom.

    It not only says that to me it makes me feels a sense of impending doom. I want clean red and white lines, and the black stripe mentioned by Calvin signifying Matty’s Hanmstrung!

    *I am colourblind so may be wrong.
    ** When I say white I mean PINK*!

  4. Daftburger says:

    PS other than ^^^^^^ I think it’s great! xx

  5. Stephen Foster says:

    \o/ Applause \o/

    Can you not construe it as us making them bleed?

  6. Oh dear -much as I would love to be very positive on this matter I find myself unable to tell a lie …. it’s starting to look reminiscent of a blood bath!

    No doubt I shall back to the bench again for that comment!

  7. Stephen Foster says:

    No no, only the truth can help here …

    This is genuine product testing. I am sort of dreading the appearance of Old Stokie now.

  8. Ralph says:

    Blood and bandages, I can’t get past the blood and bandages.

  9. Stephen Foster says:

    Three out of three \o/

    I can see myself digging my heels in on this. That’s my own painting you know you heartless swine…

  10. Daftburger says:

    No! 😀

  11. Ralph says:

    I just asked the girls their initial thoughts, Blood and sunset was there answer.
    We genuinely like it and I’m impressed that you painted it but it looks like the cover of a book that might be about the Naughty forties if it was Stoke related. A small point but I really like the use of light and shade to define the colours as though they were three strips of material sewn together.

  12. Daftburger says:

    ‘Naughty forties’ It’s not about the Shipping Forecast is it? 😀

  13. Laura says:

    I like the font 🙂

    I like the textural quality of the painting, I think the bottom third is trying too hard enable you to use red for the Stephen Foster.

  14. Stephen Foster says:

    Would you take a different colour there for the name?

  15. Laura says:

    Its already darker than the title, perhaps if it went a shade or two darker it would leave you less compromise to work on the bottom third of the painting in a similar textural manner to the top two thirds?

    Maybe its the cloud of red coming in from the top left that makes people feel blood bath?

  16. OS says:

    I have truly not laffed so much for a long, long time. My mind has gone blank, except it keeps screaming: WHAT THE FUFFING ‘ELL IS THAT? It looks like something Thomas would have created. LOLOLOLOLOLOLOL.

    Ps. It might grow on me like some type of fungi. 🙂

    NB for Daftbugger: Don’t mention pinks. LOL.

  17. Stephen Foster says:

    You beast. : )

  18. Geraldine says:

    Well, it’s a colour I certainly couldn’t lose on my bookshelves, except it’s not even going to be a book…

  19. stephen foster says:

    Very diplomatic Geraldine : )

    This cover is clearly not one of the bottle its a Special One.

    It may be ahead of its time…

  20. It looks like a seascape printed through in red, the bottom being the shore, the red the sea, the colour on top the sky. Now if it were only Stoke-on-Sea.

    Actually, it would make a very eye-catching cover, though I’d never think it had anything to do with Stoke City. I’d expect a book about the apocalypse. The Final Sea, The Final Shore, The Final Sky.

    Could work.

  21. stephen foster says:

    Ah ha – Hossanahs – a poet arrives!

  22. Feeling that perhaps I’d been a little less than generous in my initial comments I sought the views of my colleagues, one of whom is an artist. Their comments on the cover are as follows: It looks like
    a) An apocalytic seascape
    b) The Last Day on Earth
    c) A battle scene awash with blood
    d) South American/Brazilian theme
    I promise that these views were garnered through genuine research and none of the staff are to my knowledge using hallucinatory drugs!

  23. Daftburger says:

    But what about the perpetrator? 😀

  24. johnny neptune says:

    “It’s a mixture of Orange, Red and fcking PINK*!”

    i took it as a moment of reflection on your 1984 kit, what, by all accounts, turned pink in the wash. after turning orange. obvioulsy.

  25. shep207 says:

    Who knows, all of these comments could be quite fitting of the final.. Another broken leg perhaps?

  26. Stephen Foster says:

    The more I look at it the more I like it.

    And if turns out a dirty filthy Kung-fu kicking match like the World Cup Final (Nigel de Jong is in this one too) it’s going to be totally appropriate, no?

  27. shep207 says:

    Exactly. Let’s leave it as it is and then if the final is played more like Arsenal vs. Barcelona you can change the blood bath theme..

    It’s the only book cover you have been able to design, right? So surely it has to be something you’re happy with regardless of what everyone else thinks….

  28. Stephen Foster says:

    I don’t know; the super poet aside the general public seems unconvinced; still, we all know that you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover…

  29. markelt says:

    Well isn’t this just a kick in the teeth for everybody who says what Rothko does is easy?

  30. calvininjax says:

    It could be one of the photographs President Obama refuses to release for fear of reprisals. 😉

  31. Stephen Foster says:

    Arriviste corporate box w*nkers aren’t my most likely clients though are they 🙂

    Nb reply = for Ely not Calv.

  32. OS says:

    I’m still trying to work out how you’ve managed to mangle it up like that. Were you doing it by the sea and big wave sort of washed in and splashed you and the painting? That would add a bit of weight to George’s theory that it’s an epochalyptical seascape.

  33. stephen foster says:

    I can see that it’s insinuated itself into your soul and that you’re beginning to love it OS. I guess that’s what art does. [:-¤]

  34. OS says:

    If Stoke lose, I would use it. It has a certain, undeniable melancholy about it. If the unthinkable were to happen, I’d just add a couple of light-blue, peardrop shaped tears falling from the title.

    Come to think of it, if we were to win, I would use it, but instead of the tears, I’d put a big, fierce-red, grinning dragon over your fey name. []

  35. Stephen Foster says:

    I could keep the cover and simply re title the whole thing:

    The Final Days of the Liberal Democrats

    ? : )

Comments are closed.