Let them be ‘avin it

Tonight (and most ably aided and abetted by the abjection of Cardiff City earlier in the day) Norwich City were promoted back to the Premiership by the manager who was responsible for thrashing their backsides 7-1 in the opening game of the season when he was the boss of Colchester United two years ago. A fortnight later he was Norwich’s manager. Norwich were in the bottom three of the Third Division then and now they are the first team to do the double bounce since a shower called Manchester City did it across 1999-2001. It’s some achievement. Congratulations to him and to them and to Michael and Delia.

This entry was posted in And She Laughed No More, The Final and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Let them be ‘avin it

  1. OS says:

    I got back just in time after queueing all evening for our cup final queue tickets, and watched the end of the game with Swiss. I was sort of chuffed for everyone at the club. I did send a text to Philip, but he’s not replied. I think he might have been ‘celebrating’. 😉

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    He do have a habit of celebrating on a Bank Holiday, boy.

    Got the tekeets?

  3. calvininjax says:

    You will be able to see one “home” game in the Premier League next season.

  4. OS says:

    He’ll be with Delia on a regular basis, Swiss say.

    No, aint got my tickets yet. My queue number will see me getting them about 11 am.

  5. Stephen Foster says:

    Graham got ours online by 08.11 this morning boy; d’you like queueing or something?

    Still, I suppose Dresden was in the eastern bloc wasn’t it?

  6. OS says:

    I like to have ’em in me hand. I don’t trust this modern teknology. I’ll let you no when I’ve got ’em.

  7. Colin says:

    You only need to revisit your musings from 2 years ago this very day to see what an utterly bizarre affair football is. Of course, that is why we bloody love it (and Paul Lambert).

  8. Stephen Foster says:

    He’s a genius. Good luck to you all!

  9. OS says:

    Got em. In me and. Block 115. Row 39.

    Yummy! 🙂

  10. Daftburger says:

    I must say Miracle bobby got particularly excited watching it!

  11. Stephen Foster says:

    Send me a photo I wanna put one ont’blog.

    My excitement is rising : )

  12. Stephen Foster says:

    Cheep cheep.

  13. Mary says:

    Monday was a fantastic night! I got in from gym and gingerly clicked on the red button to see how many Cardiff had scored by half time. I couldn’t believe my eyes and had to double-check online. I then watched our match with my 91 year old Mum, what a result! First call after the game was to her 98 year old brother in Thorpe St Andrew who’d been listening on Radio Norfolk. For me it rates with the Canaries going up to the First Division in 1972.
    I found your blog after buying ‘Walking Ollie’ on Saturday, and finishing it on Sunday. I could picture exactly where you were walking. I can just remember the turntable for steam engines by that scary railway bridge, that would have freaked him.
    I bought your book at a book sale near Bergerac in SW France, but you won’t, I’m afraid, earn anything from my purchase. However, I hope you’ll be pleased to know that my euros went to an animal rescue group, http://www.phoenixasso.com, who do a lot of good work in the area.
    Hope you enjoy the final, we’ll be cheering for Stoke down here (despite them beating the gooners on Sunday and upsetting my husband).

  14. Stephen Foster says:

    Hi Mary and welcome to the blog! Were you in Beregerac in some sort of homage to Arsene or to distance yourself from his ever more persecution-complex-informed deranged ramblings 🙂 ? I used to really like him too, I even wrote him a letter saying as much once (preamble to trying to get him to write a piece for a book as was editing to be fair.)

    Anyway, well done Canaries! That manager of yours is a genius. The whole world will be Stokies on Saturday, which will be a very unique one-off in the history of time…

  15. Mary says:

    No homage! I’ve lived in the Lot valley about an hour south of Bergerac for the past 20 years.
    In the 1990s following any UK sport from afar was difficult: no satellite TV, no internet, just Radio 4 on long wave when climatic conditions were right and they tend to do God on a Sunday morning, not sport. If the UK Sunday papers arrived on the Monday they were usually the Scottish editions.
    Now it’s just like being an armchair fan in the UK. Fine, so long as one’s team is doing well!
    Two labradors in the house by the way. One’s a guide dog puppy, N°11 in the series of pups we have puppywalked since 2001, t’other is ours. Now aged 9, he was our second puppy. He qualified andworked but took early retirement with bad feet. A feeble excuse we reckon, there’s been no trouble in the paw dept. since he came home.

Comments are closed.