A sign

We had our traditional Good Friday walk with Philip (*say Hello to all boi) and Diddley this morning and afterwards I stopped off for a macchiato at a different cafe to my usual (which was shut for Good Friday) and as I put the paper cup onto the roof of the car and faffed about with keys I noticed this sign below the street sign and it made me pause; so Bishops had hounds, did they, back in the day, and I pictured them hunting through the medieval streets after the medieval rabbits and failing to return to the medieval call of the Bishop. Hounds are the dogs I principally like, simply, really, by the accident of Ollie coming across our paths. Before him I don’t think I particularly noticed them; now, I seldom fail to spot one even out of the corner of my eye. I taught a Creative Writing course in Hundegate not long back; it must have been meant to be.

This entry was posted in Along Came Dylan, Walking Ollie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A sign

  1. calvininjax says:

    Interesting how the German word “Hunde” was used in 13th century Norwich to describe hounds.

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    “William the Conqueror, the Duke of Normandy, invaded and conquered England and the Anglo-Saxons in 1066 AD. The new overlords spoke a dialect of Old French known as Anglo-Norman. The Normans were also of Germanic stock (“Norman” comes from “Norseman”) and Anglo-Norman was a French dialect that had considerable Germanic influences in addition to the basic Latin roots.”

    http://www.anglik.net/englishlanguagehistory.htm

  3. calvininjax says:

    Well there you go. Thanks for that explanation.

  4. Chris says:

    I just read your book, Walking Ollie. Now I want a lurcher….

  5. Stephen Foster says:

    I’m not sure if that’s exactly how the book is supposed to work Chris! But good luck if you do it: the Dogs Trust take lurchers in but there is also the dedicated lurcher rescue organisation lurcher link:

    http://www.lurcher.org/llink/forum/index.php

Comments are closed.