The meeting

I remember when I first saw this how I thought it was a drab sort of painting (it was a poor slide projection I was looking at on a dirty art school wall) but then I learned about it, and about the social statement its creator Gustave Courbet is making. Courbet is the bloke on the right, with his chin up, not doffing his cap to the laird of the manor figure, nor to his humble servant, cap in hand, nor to his noble hound. Courbet said this: I am fifty years old and I have always lived in freedom; let me end my life free; when I am dead let this be said of me: ‘He belonged to no school, to no church, to no institution, to no academy, least of all to any régime except the régime of liberty.

I may do a Courbet week, it’s not impossible. He has some excellent paintings in his repertoire; his self portrait (The Desperate Man) is une cracker.

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The meeting

  1. Rosie says:

    Why is Yellow Gilet man looking at the ground?

  2. OS says:

    I like it. It certainly does make a statement. Courbet is a man after my own heart. I look forward to a week of him. 😉

    The servant reminds me of a rimmer.

    BTW, we learn something every day. I never knew a ‘cracker’ was feminine! *Amazing!*

  3. Ovookla says:

    Interesting quotation from Pel’s perspective, in many ways, don’t you think?

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    You should remember that from the class; or were you a bit late : )

  5. Stephen Foster says:

    Yes; an interesting artist all round.

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    Haha, you’ll be doing un conjugation next.

    M Pulis was tres bien today, non?

  7. OS says:

    >M Pulis was tres bien today, non?

    No comment. 😉

Comments are closed.