My one system of barter

When I was a skint Art Student I decorated my hairdresser’s salon and also made some gilded mirrors for the place in the art school studios. I did it for nothing, using ‘found materials’ and ever since them I’ve had free haircuts. After about ten years of this (I tip, of course) I said to Karen that I thought I’d run out of credit and I ought to start paying like a regular. So we did that for a few trims but it felt wrong. So I said, ‘Why don’t I make you a cake and do it like that?’ Karen is fond of cake so it was a deal. Mainly it’s Bakewell Tart or else banana loaf. For today’s special occasion she requested a Victoria Sponge, the whole thing. I haven’t made one of these for 20 years. To be honest, the bottom is a bit burnt, for flavour.

This entry was posted in It Cracks Like Breaking Skin and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My one system of barter

  1. OS says:

    If the burnt cake ends up like my burnt marmalade, it will be ok. Do me some more of it.

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    Hmm, put like that it seems Im on a burning spree. Still, I suppose its in the genetic Stoke blud.

    ‘Burnt offerings,’ was the most common answer to the Q: What did you have for tea last night? when I was at Skool.

  3. Daftburger says:

    Talking of skool. Did you ever make a victoria sponge in Home Ec (When they started making boys doit!) and how much was left when you got wom? ūüėÄ

Comments are closed.