Primitive sat nav/entertainment

When I was a kid we used to have this street map in a glass box in the town of Tunstall. It was next to the market hall. It had buttons that you pressed to show where places were such as the library and the police station (both round the corner); the buttons lit up little light bulbs, though to be fair these had often blown. I seem to remember that one could stand there for quite a while playing with the thing though. I was looking for an image of one to illuminate this blog post but so far, no luck (until OS has lit me up the way):

I think I’ll go where she isn’t going

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Primitive sat nav/entertainment

  1. OS says:

    Something like this? 😉

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    why can’t I do a simple thing like that?

    “illuminated town map” or some such was my type of search

  3. Geraldine says:

    After all these years checking in, that’s the first time the blog has “switched on” a picture as I was reading it!

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    Just back from Cheltenham Geraldine, I saw some fine races and sensational finishes but I’d be surprised if there was anything to match the thrill of this moment for you here! 😉

  5. bumble says:

    wow !!! i remember them !! the lightbulbs wern,t broken , i had em illuminating my bike . p.s . is that yer wife in that piccy os ?

  6. Rory says:

    Man, what a beautiful design with a fatal flaw. I’m assuming the map was virtually useless when the bulbs had burned out, or perhaps you could use the process of elimination to discover the location of your destination?
    It seems so, well, British really. Or at least something born out of the work of the aging of the last of the Victorian generation, a group who grew up with covered table legs (for fear it might excite men!) thrown into a world where the future seemed so mechanical and scary. It’s like “we have the power to light up little bits at the touch of a button, now what mundane things can we improve with this power?”
    Meanwhile by the time I’m growing up in America we’re just throwing little numbers on the map and you have to read the key to see what they are. You were lucky if the numbers were in any sort of actual order so you didn’t have to search the entire map to see why number 8 destination is mysteriously no where near number’s 7 and 9.

  7. Stephen Foster says:

    But Rory, here’s a funny thing: that looks to me like an American city, built on a grid system … I can’t enlarge it on my computer, but what river is it at the bottom? …

Comments are closed.