#friday poem

My friend Ruth Selwyn-Crome, whom I met by being an RLF fellow, has a habit of sending out occasional Friday Poems; they’re always a welcome ping in the inbox; this one is very good and very charming, I thonk. Ruth has given kind permission for it to be reproduced here:

Good to Go

It’s an office discussion
What would you do if you knew you were going to die?
Someone says skydiving
Someone says they’d go to Italy
because they liked the food
I think about the skydiver I saw on 999 who got saved
by a thornbush
He recorded it
And all he could say was
Goodbye
Someone says they dove into a waterfall once
And just thought they’d mention it
I wonder if it should have been dived
Everyone is muddling O’s today
all commottees and conformations
I’m leaving
It’s my turn
and in the end of me
all I can think is that I would think about love
and how I would want to tell someone
who didn’t know it
that I loved them

Not that anyone would be lostoning

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to #friday poem

  1. Geraldine says:

    Lovely poem, makes me think. Thanks for that.

  2. mum says:

    Lovely poem Ruth and close to my heart thanks x

  3. Daftburger says:

    There’s reason but no rhyme to it!

  4. Wonderful poem! I loved it.
    Kate

  5. Ruth says:

    I’m pretty sure Mr Stan Laurel would have had something really cutting to say in reply to this but instead I will simply say…ha! (and thanks – I think)

Comments are closed.