In passing

I’m still haunted by the colour of the Barcelona away kit from the other night at the Highbury Emirates Stadium; the last time I saw anything like it it was number 748b on the late-eighties Dulux ‘Spectrum’ colour ‘book’ that I used to use to terrify clients if they started dithering over the limited palette that I allowed them to select from my Brommel or Sanderson swatches. This was pre-Farrow and Ball & pre-Fired Earth. When those manufacturers came along with their tins of ‘estate emulsion’ and ‘dead flat eggshell’ available only in tones that could be mined from the earth, distilled from ponds, or scraped off mountainsides I became even more of a Fascist decorator.

This colour ‘catalonion lime’ can only be produced by combining many of the wrong chemicals together and then losing at The Arsenal

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In passing

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention In passing | Stephen Foster's Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. Ralph says:

    Is it the recognised UNICEF colour or something. Every time I see them in it I think they should be wearing Black vinyl knee length football boots and corsette with it.

    Or is that just me?

Comments are closed.