But what would it be like with seared polenta?

I was down on my knees today examining jars of honey when I saw this. The last time I had it was in 1903 when my Granny served it to me with warm milk and three sugars. I always wondered what it was.

Wikipedia: Camp Coffee is a glutinous brown substance which consists of water, sugar, 4% coffee essence, and 26% chicory essence. This is generally used as a substitute for coffee, by mixing with warm milk in much the same way as cocoa, but it is commonly found on baking aisles in supermarkets as it is also used as an ingredient in coffee cake and other confections.

I wonder how many bottles they sell in Waitrose, Norwich; it’s a bottom shelf product, next to whatever Certo is. We can say that much.

via Motorola.

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to But what would it be like with seared polenta?

  1. shep207 says:

    Certo is made from the residue of pressed apples, which is a rich source of pectin. It is used for “superior jams and marmalades”.

  2. AndyP says:

    Do they still make that?! Childhood memories of milky “coffee” flood back. I rather liked it back then. By Jove!

  3. makemeadiva says:

    Granny had taste.

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    By Jove! needs a comeback.

  5. Stephen Foster says:

    Indeed she didn’t: her signature dish was ‘burnt offerings.’

  6. johnny neptune says:

    i’m pretty sure that, back in the day, when mellow birds was still a sophisticated coffee choice you could get powdered coffee & chicory too.

    i’m also pretty sure it nearly put me off coffee for life.

  7. markelt says:

    Mellow Birds was coffee for people who don’t like coffee. The World is full of stuff like this.

    Don’t like films? Here’s a Jennifer Aniston romcom.

    Don’t like music? Here’s savage Garden

    Don’t like football? Here’s AFC Bournemouth*

    *Inevitable cheap shot

  8. Arkwright says:

    My parents would stock Camp Coffee for a local farmer, Dick Darling, in their village shop. Dick was cast in the classic farmer mould of flat cap, old coat fastened with string, and permanently in wellies. I seem to remember his home as being just off the stack yard (I knew where it was, but still don’t know what a stack yard is) and was hard to differentiate from the rest of the farm, on the odd occasions when I had to take something over for him. I seem to remember that he favoured Mr Kipling’s country something or other cake. Anyhow, I am wandering, and clearly not literate enough to do so here perhaps, but I think that what I am driving at is that I have only ever associated Camp Coffee with only one person. It may change if ever I was to try some, but it always looked pretty grim stuff really.

  9. Stephen Foster says:

    Ay up Arkwright! What the devil are you doing here?

    You can’t know whether you like it or not without getting a brew of it on now can you?

Comments are closed.