Superstar, the truth

I’ve seen it put about recently that the Sonic Youth version of the Carpenters’ song, Superstar, exceeds the original in beauty, poetry and greatness. This was only on blogs and twitter feeds and stuff, so did not matter, but then tonight I saw it said in a scene in a film called Juno (perhaps this is where the whole conceit starts); I liked Juno, it was a sweet fairytale of a film about a teenage pregnancy. Go find the Sonic Youth version by all means if you want to hear it slowed down to a dirge and delivered in a contrived vocal that would make a reed hide; otherwise, stick to the proper thing.

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Superstar, the truth

  1. makemeadiva says:

    Juno: one of the few films I have sat through in the last ten years.

    It was not entirely representative of the teen mums I work with: they are more likely to be found in the Greyhound Retail Park playing free bingo.

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    what is free bingo?

  3. makemeadiva says:

    It is where you don’t have to pay for the bingo sheets, although you can opt to for bigger prizes (I think). I have never been myself you understand, although I would have been a regular if it was still a dog track.

  4. Arkwright says:

    Your sister bought me the album, if I was a Carpenter, which is featured in the film. And while I must admit to not having listened to it a great deal, I do still have it. Let’s be honest, it’s the kind of nonsense that I have been known to favour.

Comments are closed.