America

It has its critics, but I was once waiting for a train at Baltimore at 9.30 in the morning and the station controller was playing Love TKO by Teddy Pendergass over the Tannoy. No country where that can happen can be all bad. Sony are bad though, they won’t let me put an embedded link on here, a situation that made me try four versions until I found this (more) plaintive Live in Paris rendition. The blog is recommending a click through to youtube

This entry was posted in The Final Days of Marvin Gaye and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to America

  1. calvininjax says:

    You are absolutely right, Stephen. There is much in America that is good but the bad is just plain ugly. Sometimes I miss the middle ground of England, if it still exists.

  2. Daftburger says:

    There’s no middle ground it’s all shyte!

  3. markelt says:

    calvin

    I think we’re going that way. Ideology, certainty, threats, fear and attacks because thinking is for wimps.

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    No Mr burger, the slogan is ‘Yes we can!’

  5. Daftburger says:

    I fort it was ‘we’re all in this together!

  6. Rory says:

    Calvin, what part of America do you live in? Same question for markelt if you’re over here.

  7. calvininjax says:

    Rory,
    I reside in Jacksonville, Florida. Previously, I lived in Arlington, Texas.

  8. calvininjax says:

    I think you may be right, Mark. I am appalled by certain factions in Britain thinking the Tea Party is the way to go. What they don’t appear to realize is that the Tea Party is the equivalent of the BNP but with latent rather than overt racism. If those same factions were to wax lyrical about the BNP, they would be villified and rightly so.

    As W.B. Yeats put it: “The best lack all conviction, while the worst are full of passionate intensity.”

    That’s America in a nutshell.

  9. markelt says:

    Rory

    I’m not over there. I’m 100% British beef (cake)

Comments are closed.