The good old days

The top picture, l-r, Jacqui, my first sweetheart, Brother Bumble, Diane, Me. What I love about it is how Diane looks just like the kid in the water in Seurat’s Bathers at Asnières as below. It was taken at a cousin’s wedding. Mum said that Jacqui and Diane spent the whole day swapping hats. The second picture is of an annual scene; it’s a slip road somewhere near to Junction 16 of the M6; Jacqui, Diane (socks-flip-flop combo totally de rigeur) and Bumble (that sweat shirt will be new, or at least newly laundered, but he was the sort of boy who could make something look like he’d been wearing it for a week when he’d only had it on for five minutes) are waiting for a bus that will take us down to the South of France for a fortnight’s holiday on a caravan site. It began its journey in Manchester, stopped to pick up again in Birmingham and once more in London, where exotic dope-smoking types got on board, and then it only stopped a couple of times on French service stations. Twenty fours hours and you’re there duck.

Seurat, Bathers at Asnières

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The good old days

  1. mum says:

    Brill reproductions of the photos ” The good old days ” love em 🙂 xxx

  2. markelt says:

    You look like some louche 60s chancer using his camera to seduce naive girls Alfie style.

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    Indeed; I’m obvs only practising with my sister.

  4. bumble says:

    gosh !! i was oober cool even then ..

  5. Stephen Foster says:

    The Burton’s shirt and tie is pure genuis : )

  6. OS says:

    Are Dianne and Bumble, twins? Or is it that Bumble is just shortarsed? 😉 (I know. I know! Despite him being vertically challenged… he was a good fighter! But I’m from Anson Road and I don’t care. 🙂 )

    Jacquie looks like a young version of Nora Batty. I would have fancied Dianne though. She’s dead cute with her safety hat on.

  7. Stephen Foster says:

    Oi! Jacqui was a goddess (that is not her best ever photo it’s true).

    Yes, Bumble is a miniature war machine.

  8. OS says:

    Bumble is a miniature war machine: Jacquie looks a bundle of fun and I would have been camped on her doorstep just for a kiss from her; and you are a gayer with a linen suit and a camera. Are you sure Mum didn’t stray from the nest? 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Hey up Mum!

    OS. XXXXXXX 😉

  9. OS says:

    NB: I like the Seurat. Well… more than the foppish wave in the second pic.

  10. Stephen Foster says:

    that’s Jacqui doing that wave and you are in BIG trouble OS you BLIND git : )

  11. OS says:

    Just a minute…. I’ll put my proper glasses on. Who’s in the bottom pic then? Bumble Marciano – obviously! Dianne who I would camp on her doorstep – obviously. So, is that Jacquie doing a womanish wave? That explains why it’s foppish… then. 🙂 So, where are you? Or are you being artistic with the camera?

    ‘Trouble’ is my second name… so that doesn’t bother me. 😉

  12. OS says:

    >Jacquie looks a bundle of fun and I would have been camped on her doorstep just for a kiss from her;

    That should have read ‘Dianne’ and not Jacqui. 🙂 She reet cute.

  13. Stephen Foster says:

    You got no chance with any of ’em now Do One ; )

  14. markelt says:

    Trouble is your second name? Tummy is your first.

  15. bumble says:

    i,m going to have to meet o.s. !! he actually fancies his chances at 102 eh ?? p.s. dont be pervin at my sis else ill av to jump on a plane and come duff yer up !!!! hehe.

  16. OS says:

    I go no chance with anybody nowadays except Mad Mary from Normacot, so stick that one up yer ringpiece! I was speaking relatively, as if I wus much younger and saw Dianne out and about. She got sparkle has that lass… and a reet cheeky face. 😉

  17. OS says:

    We’s got the attention of the skint gayer from Cheshire. How’s yer love-life, Boy? 🙂 🙂

  18. OS says:

    Oi Marciano… me and thee will get on fine, ar tells thee. We can have a giggle about that foppish gay Bro of yours. And yer can give me some more pics of your sis for ‘bedtime reading’. 😉

  19. OS says:

    I’ll be back later. I’m busy now… making a gay fillum.

    Hold on…

  20. markelt says:

    Dynamic

  21. bumble says:

    o s .. i look forward to it !! nice that someonelse notices his tendancies.

Comments are closed.