Minestrone (Italian Lobby)

Pel has mentioned this dish on the comments to Ollie below. I am thinking to make some now; as I understand it Minestrone is an Italian peasant dish where you essentially chuck the local stuff into the pot and vary it as you like. We have a similar thing in Stoke called Lobby. I think I may have posted Nick King’s definitive recipe for that at one point (I might go looking for it); it contained the immortal and deathless recipe instruction, ‘throw it all into a cauldron and leave to cook all day long til you get home from work.’ If I also remember rightly it contained a controversial ingredient: a packet of Knorr Country Soup Mix to be incorporated as a ‘seasoning.’

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Minestrone (Italian Lobby)

  1. OS says:

    Its in the wrong bowl. It should be in a mahoosive one. You remember them I suppose? And the cheese is proper gay. But what else can we expect from you! Where’s the chonucks?

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    I don’t wish to abuse Help The Aged clients but that is a library picture of a bowl of minestrone soup you nincompoop.

  3. markelt says:

    I’ve never forgiven you for reacquainting me with ‘cheese’. My granddad used to love it but when I made it, it made me feel queasy. Maybe it was because it wasn’t grilled on an enamel plate.

    Come Dine With Me was from Stoke last week. One of them made ‘Caribbean Lobby’ because he wanted to be creative with a local dish. It looked horrendous. The only creativity needed with lobby is deciding whether you use pearl barley or not.

  4. Pel says:

    Oooooo……. I don’t know about chuckin it all in or the Knorr soup mix, but I’m sure it tastes good.
    My minestrone originated from Marcella Hazan’s book The Classic Italian Cookbook…….hope you don’t need a reference for that. Haha! She doesn’t put all the vegetables in at once and swears it makes a better tasting soup, you need to try it. The parmesan crust idea is hers and it really works.

  5. markelt says:

    If you missed it, and if you’re bothered, you can watch it online

    http://www.channel4.com/programmes/come-dine-with-me/episode-guide/series-21

  6. Pel says:

    Don’t forget to take the crust out before you serve it!

  7. Stephen Foster says:

    I saws that come dine with me grey man, T made me watch it yesterday : I was delighted that the loser was destined to cop off with the co-winner. It was totally Stoke. I wouldn’t of* given his Lobby to the dog.

Comments are closed.