Barnet jargon

Should I be giving my debt mountain a short back and sides or a curly perm? This is from Stephanie Flanders’ BBC blog, Stephanomics (Not sure this is quite hubristic enough, Ed) explaining something about Ireland. Or possibly not explaining it, because it seems rather hard to follow even in Steph’s Stephanomic speak for dunces.

…The first is that they wouldn’t be in this mess – or at least they wouldn’t be in this mess right now – if the German chancellor hadn’t insisted on leading the rest of Europe into a formal discussion of how sovereign debt in the eurozone might be restructured, in the event of crises after 2013. 2013 is not far away. Investors understandably wondered whether the debt they were holding right now could be in for a haircut as well…

No doubt Stephanie Flanders has her Stephanomics book out on sale at all good mainline railway stations and termini. I sometimes pause to look at the non-fiction bestsellers and note that the the top ten titles are always called ‘How to be Topp’ or ‘The GLOBAL Mess and How I Always predicted IT’ with un-pickupable covers like these two below written by people whose names I don’t believe. I’m going to write one. It’ll be called ‘Get MEGARich on the FALLOUT’ and it’ll be written by Stefan B Peanuts-Schulz (in collaboration with Garth Crooks).

How do the commuters have time to read these books when their deathly white pallors are permanently bathed in the soft blue glow of the laptop, when their intent and focus never shifts from the spreadsheet the bar chart and the click click click of the mouse. That’s what I’d like to know.

Look Inside if you dare…

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Barnet jargon

  1. markelt says:

    have you been following me again?

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    as you know I would follow you to the ends of the earth grey-man but I don’t quite know what this means.

  3. markelt says:

    That last bit sounds like a description of how I spend my days.

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    deathly white grey man.

  5. markelt says:

    Look I’m doing it now. Although for once today my wraith like existence churning out words and ideas for ungrateful bastards will be interrupted by lunch out. Meet me at The Bunbury Arms in three hours.

Comments are closed.