Ollie

Up in the dunes with Dylan this morning. It’s two years today since his mate went. I often wish and imagine that some little wraith cast-off will pass our way in a cosmic manner, but so far not.

This entry was posted in Along Came Dylan, Walking Ollie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Ollie

  1. Daftburger says:

    You know when your standing all alone,
    Dylan won’t come back and you start to moan?
    Please forgive him as he’s running with me.
    Free as a bird down by the sea.

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    Good point burger.

  3. Chiffs says:

    How to make a grown woman cry.
    Thank you ‘burger, that’s lovely.

  4. Daftburger says:

    Maybe not just grown women. I’ve upset me sen!

    Normal service will be resumed ASAP!

  5. Pel says:

    It was a year today that my three year old cat Zak was run over, it was horrible. I was getting dinner, had just given him his food and a bit of fuss and he was sitting on the chair by the cooker with a look of contentment on his face. He had disappeared from the chair when I next looked, and only thirty minutes had past since I was talking to him when the phone rang, it was someone who had got our phone number from Zaks collar, they said they thought he was dead. The horrible thing was, his brother was nowhere to be seen and as I ran to where he was, I saw two people standing by a bin liner. I never have my cats names engraved on their collars, so I didn’t know if it was Zak or Mr Gatsby, his brother, until I looked in the bin liner. I ran home with my beautiful Zak in my arms but it was too late to do anything for him. You know, I adore animals and have had many over the years, can’t live without them, but luckily most have died from old age, so this was a horrible shock. I don’t think you ever get used to losing your pets. You all sound like dog people, but I love ’em all, so on this day now I will share a thought with you for Ollie. X

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    Good grief Pel that is a horrible story, we’ll share a thought with you too xx

  7. OS says:

    Animals are not pets, they’re our children. Is it really two years, winger? It seems like only yesterday.

    Shares a thought with Pel, too.

  8. Stephen Foster says:

    I wrote three years in the first draft of this OS, and I believed it. It seems a long time to me.

  9. Geraldine says:

    I’m remembering Ollie too, and all our pets/”friends”/”children” who have gone and are so badly missed, even after years.

  10. makemeadiva says:

    Rudi has a lot to thank Ollie for. He was in severe danger of being sent back from whence he came until I read your book.

  11. Pel says:

    Thank you. x

  12. Pel says:

    Thanks to you too. x

  13. Pel says:

    It’s true Geraldine, twenty four years ago at twenty nine I experienced losing my mom, two years after that my wonderful brother died, he was only thirty nine, then two dear friends of mine, one of my cats and my twenty year old dog Nails, or Shandy as he was called before I rescued him. My point being, when you are capable of loving so much, the harder it is to lose the one’s you love and the more you miss them, whether they are animal or human. I can’t imagine what it would be like if I lost my child and my dad certainly suffered. He will be ninety one soon and won’t be around for too much longer, so that will be the last of my family gone that I grew up with. But hey, I’m a positive kinda dude and I’m sure I will be allowed to watch my son grow to adulthood before it’s my turn to leave. Oh my god, stop me! I am in the middle of writing my horrid essay for the final year of my art degree, I’m not a happy writer and not good at it, as you might have guessed, and would much prefer to be creating visuals where I can move about. I can feel my bum spreading with every minute on this chair, I don’t know how writers do it! I think I would certainly start smoking again. Sorry, I think I keep drifting over to this blog for a therapy session. Thanks to you all for listening. X

  14. Geraldine says:

    This blog is a great place for therapy Pel! It has also inspired me over the last few years to occasionally get up off my backside and do things – and it all started with Ollie.

  15. Pel says:

    Well, the first book I will read when I am not having to read about art and ‘ology’s and the like, is ‘Walking Ollie’. I shall look forward to it………in fact I may put it in my Amazon basket now, along with Merleau Ponty’s ‘Phenomenology of Perception’.

  16. Stephen Foster says:

    Blimey I did not know we did secret counseling work here; good. That would be the greatest double purchase in the history of Amazon, Pel. Do it : )

    nb writing books is not so bad as writing essays, there is that. The temptation to smoke is always there but we have to be strong & resist resist resist…

  17. Pel says:

    Secret counselling, yes! It exists here, you should start charging. Haha! I’ve certainly resisted the cigs while doing this damn essay and who ever invented the Harvard method of referencing needs stringing up!!! Aghhhhh!………pure torture.
    Anyway, just mailed deadline draft to my tutor and the rest has to be in by 17th December, so not much to do now. In between the torture I managed to rustle up a big vat of minestrone which has been simmering gently with a big fat parmesan crust thrown in for flavour……..mmmmmm, I think I deserve a big glass of red with that. Happy weekend all! X

  18. Stephen Foster says:

    The Harvard Method is actually supposed to be simpler too, isn’t it? (Ibid, Foster p1423)

    Minestrone sounds excellent, I haven’t made that for years; don’t forget to finish the bottle… x

  19. Pel says:

    Believe me Stephen, I would find any of those methods difficult.
    The minestrone was delicious, make some and don’t forget the parmesan crust! I didn’t finish the bottle two large glasses these days and I’m done….x

  20. Stephen Foster says:

    Two large glasses and I’m half-way through ; )

Comments are closed.