I’ll never grow old

was what I actually thought the song below was called when I went looking for it. It’s not, but I’ll never grow old is one of the early lines and rolls in, along with the rest of an exceptional tight lyric, as a metaphor for young love – ‘I feel free as a bird, flying around in the blue’ … etc, only as long, that is, as long as I’ve got you. It’s nice. What isn’t nice is catching Cliff Richard on the radio explaining his eternal youth. ‘I still feel like I’m a young man, when I turned forty I thought this is big, but I felt the same, when I turned fifty I though this is big, but I felt the same, when I turned sixty I though this is big but I felt the same, so now I’ve turned seventy I’m thinking this is big but I feel the same.’ I don’t know, but shouldn’t there be some sort of evolution and progress and some regression too so that you don’t feel the same?

This entry was posted in It Cracks Like Breaking Skin and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I’ll never grow old

  1. Chiffs says:

    Cliff has the body of a 21 year old. He really should give it back.
    boom-boom

  2. markelt says:

    He probably thinks that becoming increasingly creepy is progress.

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    🙂 That’s my grey man at his scathing best; perhaps just a mention of God-bothering? – though I suppose it is included in the single line, really.

  4. OS says:

    Ahem…name dropper OS. Saw him in Portugal, where he lives. Believe me, he should be getting worried! Only the stitches are keeping him from falling apart, I was expecting a maggot to crawl out of his nose and into his Queijo da Serra da Estrela. 😉

  5. markelt says:

    Oi I was talking to a wench last night whose niece is hanging with Ri Ri in New York. So she may be moving in the same cirtles as the mogul. Possibly.

  6. Daftburger says:

    Sweet tune winger even Bobby started singing along! Last tune of the night at an all-nighter?

    Cliff was my ex wifes favourite so on the basis of my enemies enemy is my friend……..etc. He really should come out with his secret ….. to longevity!

  7. OS says:

    “Cliff was my ex wifes favourite so on the basis of my enemies enemy is my friend……..etc.”

    I had the same thing, Daftbugger, but was cootin’ this bird and not married to her. All I ever heard was ‘Cliff this and Cliff that’. I got fed up of her and went back to rockin’ and rollin’. It was more fun with the lads, but not in a gay way, of course. 🙂

    GGOS.

  8. Daftburger says:

    “It was more fun with the lads, but not in a gay way, of course.”

    Is that you or Cliff talking? 😀

  9. Stephen Foster says:

    And moreover: Have Cliff and OS ever been seen together in the same room?

  10. OS says:

    I’ll tell you what Daftbugger, if we’d known about him earlier, we could have pointed a finger at ‘our lady’, laughed like hell and yelled: He’s f’kin gay you tool! 🙂

  11. OS says:

    But there were about 50 other peole in the room at the time. 😉

Comments are closed.