Better late than never

Today, via email, AndyP of Leeds sends in an ace online review of a football book. It’s not often you see literary criticism of this quality.

In a related matter*, I went to see the Ballet Rambert tonight and was much taken with the last minute reaction two young girls in front of me who jumped up and punched the air at the finale of the third part as though an injury-time winner had been scored. It was a very good dance though, I’d have to say that (not the one below, this was the first one.)

This entry was posted in And She Laughed No More and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Better late than never

  1. OS says:

    Blimey! That was a good review! I wonder who wrote it?

    I’m still waiting for his ‘Tales of Rails and Bruxelles Ales.’ 😉

    The ballet was rather good, too.

    GGOS.

  2. AndyP says:

    Thanks OS. The wife says I’m wasted, which I think implies I should be writing for a living rather than perpetually off my head. However I’m not sure if:
    (a) A writer’s income could keep her in the comfort a Local Govt Officer’s salary allows*
    (b) She’s not viewing her husband’s efforts through rose-coloured spectacles.
    (c) Winger needs another rival to compete with his book sales. 😉

    * Pre-Osbourne’s Comprehensive Spending Review of 20th Oct.

    Pulis out!

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    In answer to a) – that figure was given at an average of £4000 on a news item covering the Booker Prize award on Monday night. I’d stick, unless he closes you down anyway.

    In answer to c) – No I don’t.

  4. Daftburger says:

    So authorism isn’t done for the ‘art’ but for financial gain? Well you do disappoint!

    Much better the penniless author struggling by candle light or down and out in Paris and London who is actually in touch with his subjects than the ladi da ballet attending author who only looks at the bottom line! Write for yourself and the ‘art’ not fame and fortune. The fame and fortune will come when your dead, if it’s any good! 😉

    Bleeding sell outs!

  5. markelt says:

    There’s more money in being a hack, like me.

  6. makemeadiva says:

    Carlos Acosta is a ballet dancer worth seeing. If you can see him with Tamara Rojo, all the better.

  7. Stephen Foster says:

    Are we back round to I’m Spartacus already ; )

  8. Stephen Foster says:

    I don’t need any lessons off anybody on starving for my art DB. The pantry’s right out of foie gras.

  9. OS says:

    Andy, can I add a link your blog to my blog? Sort of a non-sexual liaison. I happen to agree with Daftbugger. I reckon you’re an excellent writer and have a place in somewhere, and it should be done from the heart and not for financial gain unless you’re a proper writer like Eli is and have to earn an honest crust any way you can.

    BTW, many congratulations on your spiffing wedding. I could have kissed you mesen. 😉

    GGOS.

  10. Daftburger says:

    LOL! 😀

    I really must read one of your bewks sometime soon. What’s the one about moving/living in London called?

  11. Stephen Foster says:

    FROM WORKING CLASS HERO TO ABSOLUTE DISGRACE

  12. AndyP says:

    Hi OS
    I’d be flattered to have a link from your site but to I haven’t written much on the blog lately, I never seem to have the time these days. Or the inspiration sadly. Too much staring at a screen at my “proper job”.

    Next time I’m over in the Potteries I’ll have to bring the missus over to meet the wisest man in Dresden! 😉 I’m sure you’d like each other very much.
    Take care, AndyP

  13. OS says:

    Dat bloody good, Diva. Ta.

Comments are closed.