I blog therefore I am

Andrew Marr has been describing bloggers at the Cheltenham Festival (the other one.) I might have to give up now I’ve read that; I don’t really want to become pimply and single.

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I blog therefore I am

  1. mum says:

    Pimply & Single ,you ,never !! Andrew Mar ( I have read what he says ) lol I turned down a lad with a Renauld Dauphine in 1959 !!! Prefered a Bubble car 🙂 xx

  2. Lee Wright says:

    Andrew Marr calling people cauliflower-nosed? Has the man looked in a mirror lately? The guy looks like he fell out of the ugly-tree and hit every branch on the way down! Don’t give up the blog Stephen, it has an eminence Mr Marr would never be able to bring into being!

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    Powerful imagery there Lee : )

  4. OS says:

    Basically, what Marr is saying (and also Nick Robinson) is that theirs is the only opinion that matters. Robinson says he has stopped reading comments on his blog because most of them fall below his level of ‘journalism’. I would say the opposite applies. Both he and Marr are the new breed of the blame culture of modern journalism. The truths they speak of are not interesting, so they have to invent a hypothetical sub-plot to create interest. That’s not journalism. Journalism is to tell the facts as available and agree or disagree with it. They should just take a trip over to Calvin’s blog to what real opinion is all about. He’s the Red Ken of that he disagrees with.

    Marr is Mr Bean without fun in his face.

    Keep on blogging, winger. Most of your blogging is shit, but it’s your shit… same as mine 🙂

    Mum! “I turned down a lad with a Renauld Dauphine in 1959 !!!” I don’t blame you. You couldn’t swing a cat round in one of those never mind parking up for a bit of hanky-panky stuff. 😉 xx

    GGOS.

  5. Daftburger says:

    Who does he think he is? Just because he was quite good at the guitar doesn’t qualify him as a political journalist!

  6. Daftburger says:

    Yes at least the front opening door of the bubble car would be useful. Stephen please ignore these images of your mum that may be created. Does she live in Barlaston? 😉

    http://www.thisisstaffordshire.co.uk/news/BONDAGE-COUPLE-S-ORDEAL/article-2746525-detail/article.html

  7. Stephen Foster says:

    Good analysis there OS, in parts.

    Now, I am obliged to surf up what the devil a Renauld Dauphine is. I thought it might have been a dish of gratinated pommes de terre when I first read it…

  8. Stephen Foster says:

    No. 🙂

  9. Stephen Foster says:

    Does she mean this?

    That looks rather cool and a missed opportunity to me. If you’d got it on with the owner of that, Mam, I could of been born the only French Existentialist in Chell 😉

  10. Tim says:

    Indeed. Andrew Marr responds to “angry, abusive and vituperative” citizen journalists with a series of knowingly inflammatory statements which are angry, abusive and vituperative.

    Good God, have we reverted to the law of the playground? “He’s ugly, sir! And really angry! And I really, really hate him!”

    Here are my thoughts on Marr’s comments. I would welcome your comments, as long as they’re not angry, abusive or vituperative, of course! 😉

    http://slouchingtowardsthatcham.com/2010/10/13/in-defence-of-bloggers-an-open-letter-to-andrew-marr/

  11. OS says:

    Excellent, Tim. Bloody excellent!

    However, in my very own playground troll-like way, I still think he’s an ugly sod. 😉

    And as far as Marr being a ‘journalist’ goes, and especially considering his education pedigree, he in no way represents my view of what a journalist should be: a seeker and provider of the truth, and not, because the truth isn’t interesting, a harbinger of half-truths and hypotheticac gossip. Marr, in my very humble opinion, has deserted the ranks (if he was ever in them) of truthful journalism to join ‘The Media’, which is now responsible for the masses hanging onto their every half-truth words and hypothetical gossip as if it were Gospel.

    Long live us baldy (I fit that description) bloggers! Hoorah! Hoorah! Hoorah!

    http://musingsfrombagend.wordpress.com/2010/10/07/parody-of-war-for-daftbugger/

    OPS.

  12. OS says:

    >hypotheticac!

    Wot on earth is that! It should be: hypothgitical. 🙂

  13. makemeadiva says:

    No, no it’s all hiphopcrisy

Comments are closed.