One Careful Owner

On the journey back from retrieving my car from its illegal impoundment I noticed that the mileage was heading to a landmark figure and I intended to keep an eye on it. Then I forgot all about the matter as, driving through Thetford Forest, I was overtaken with the joy of singing along to my Barbra Streisand CD.

We have residents parking only round our streets and as it was late when I finally arrived the bays were all full – this irritating situation is quite regular – so I parked round the corner in the next zone’s bays (Zone C). You will normally get away with that, parking-ticket-wise, which I did, but I’d left it under a tree which had been the night-time roosting spot for a particularly incontinent grandma pigeon. Since the car was coated with lucky guano now (my chariot is in a purple patch at the moment, having treated me to a monster MOT bill last week on top of the impoundment) I drove it back home to the pull-in spot round the back of the house to give it a wash and it was as I came to a halt that the instrument panel caught my eye; not only had it reached the landmark mileage but this was amazingly and serendipitously palindromic with the journey trip counter.

All I need to do now before I put it on the market is to arrange for Swiss Tony to clock it for me.

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to One Careful Owner

  1. OS says:

    Barabara Streisand! Hah! And you get on about my Sigur Ross! (*Aktewally, I’m a big fan of Streisand. 😉 )

    NB: I think it’s cost you £200,000 to get you to 200,000 in that banger. Every time I ask you how much it’s cost to get it through it’s MOT, you drop your head in shame and mutter something about how you daren’t tell me. 🙂

    Os.

  2. calvininjax says:

    With 200,000 miles on the clock, I take it we are talking German engineering here? 😉

  3. OS says:

    Calvin… my friends in Portugal have a Vauxhall Cavalier that has done 270,000. Like winger, they drive their car hard. So, I reckon it’s not who make them that matters, but who drives them. That makes it 2-0 to the Brits. 😉

    M.

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    That car don’t owe me nothing. It was written off once and it still goes.

    perhaps you and I could make each night a first and every day a beginning by auditioning for the X-factor as a duet doing cover versions of Streisand while sitting in adjacent toilet cubicles?

  5. mum says:

    To OS on the British Leyland question , the first car my son ever got behind the wheel of ( to my knowledge!) was my firm,s MiniVan !!!!! His first car was a Mini ( Black , windows the same !! ) This car was in my name because of his age ! I received numerous parking tickets , and on my birthday as a special present I had two !!!!!!!!!

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    One of them was from Brighton though, you couldn’t of expected that : )

  7. OS says:

    Mum… as you know, he’s just had mine for a couple of days. I keep dreading picking up the post! 😉

    OSxxx

  8. OS says:

    Brighton… mmmmm… it’s no wonder you keep bring TRDB up! 😉

  9. makemeadiva says:

    Take another snap when it reads 222,222 222.2 and then I’ll spend all day backing horses @ 2.22 on Betfair.

    Surely good for another 22K.

    The Guv’nor’s Beemer has got some catching up to do on 160K but with only two careful owners I think it’s nailed on.

  10. Daftburger says:

    It’s a wonder it wasn’t towed away as an abandoned car!

  11. OS says:

    It would have been, Daftbugger, but it was locked in a compound! Duh! 😉

    OPS.

  12. Stephen Foster says:

    I’m certainly getting some mileage* out of it as a blog item anyway. If only this thing got paid for by the comment – I could buy a new one.

  13. Chiffs says:

    The writing-off. I am Spartacus.

  14. Daftburger says:

    Do I have to explain everything to the thicko’s from Stowke nowadays. I’m on abart when it was discovered abandoned.

  15. calvininjax says:

    I’m Spartacus.

  16. calvininjax says:

    So what is the car that has achieved this momentous milestone?

  17. Stephen Foster says:

    I’m Spartacus.

  18. Stephen Foster says:

    BMW shooting brake.

Comments are closed.