So

Tuesday as a twenty year-old amounted to more Monday. I spent a night two weeks ago watching Stoke play Aston Villa in a quayside bar in Crete. The situation was this: since I was the only person there with an interest in the match they turned the volume up just enough so that you couldn’t quite hear the commentary while at the same time it was overridden by the music on the speakers, generic reggae. This latter later led to a conversation with T on our balcony where I drunkenly made two rather vociferous contentions: 1. Things had changed: Tony Pulis was a Great Man (this was the day his mother had died – he turned up at the ground at half time after dealing with this and oversaw the reversal of a half-time score of 0-1 to a full time win 2-1); 2. Black Uhuru were the only really great* reggae band that has ever been.

So (and I hope this helps makemeadiva’s ears): (& In searching for this I learned the sad fact that Puma Jones – the female singer with the great name – died in 1990 age 36 of breast cancer; [I never kept up with their career, post early-mid 80s.])

* great being a key word in the drunken lexicon

This entry was posted in And She Laughed No More and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to So

  1. Chiffs says:

    Black Uhuru = fabulous
    Drunk man on a balcony = dangerous. You don’t argue. But now we’re not on a balcony:
    Tony Pulis, great man = ?
    Over to you, OS

  2. makemeadiva says:

    I’m pissed as a fart and I think UB40 are totally greater than yer Black UHU.

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    That’ll be the red red wine talking.

  4. Daftburger says:

    She really is a 1 in 10 (million)!

    I think it was the time it turned a lot of people round to our Tone and was very emotional. It’s the first time I’ve heard his name sung by the majority of the people. I can’t even bring myself to say P**** Out to someone who had just lost their mother and did that. Personally I saw it as the classic reaction to the shock of a parent dying and I bet he felt pretty bad the next and following day’s and probably continues.

    Alternatively you could call him a heartless b’stard over to you OS! 😀

  5. Daftburger says:

    P.S. Kenwyne Jones has just rung up asking me if I’m going to support him against Blackburn and Manure. Doesn’t he earn enough already?

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    Burger King, where are your people now?

  7. Daftburger says:

    Here, there and everyfwhere but they’ve many rivers to cross until they find their way home! 😦

Comments are closed.