The kiss off song

The ‘(s)he gone done me bad but I’m over him/her now big time’ 45rpm record is a genre with some impressive pedigree. From Elvis’s, ‘Are You Lonesome Tonight? (Is your heart filled with pain?) to McAlmont and Butler’s, Yes I Do Feel Better (So you wanna know me now, how I feel…?) to Alanis Morissette and her questions regarding who he’s thinking about when he has carnal relations with the new Ms Morissette, to Leonard Cohen’s acid observations (There were so many people you just had to meet without your clothes) it’s a form that is embedded deep in the pysche of pop’s DNA (nb: rock critic speak). Boy meets girl has to have a payoff and Revenge is a Top Ten Hit best served up in three and a half cold minutes. And then there is the question of further prurient interest regarding just who exactly they are addressed to, personages who don’t normally get any right of reply (there must be a short book in that). Please submit personal favourites to comments. I’ll bring em up, just like I’d do to with ex I once swallowed like a bad oyster

I’ve just had this new one pass by my path from many various twitter feeds including that of The Mogul. The kids love it, and actually, for all its absurd reductionist distillation of the essential sentiment in the refrain, a matter about which I wouldn’t normal be joyful, in this case, so do I. I LOL off when I first saw it. It’s a great sound too. I don’t think this is the finished video, but I’m not sure. nb. 2: Parental Guidance

YOUTUBE just disabled: click the linky…

ceelogreen

CONTRIBUTIONS:

# 1. From Mother: Hats off to Larry, Del Shannon Very B&W and ‘In Cold Blood.’ Hats off to Larry, This may sound cruel, But you laughed at me, When you said we were through… How could I forget this one, it formed an essential soundtrack to my early years, along with Cathy’s Clown by the Everly Brothers. Hmm…

# 2. Makemeadiva: Dylan’s Don’t Think Twice (it’s all right): Makes up in bitterness for anything it lacks in revenge, with a sneered: I ain’t saying, You treated me unkind, I shoulda known better, But I don’t mind, You just kinda wasted, my precious time, But don’t think twice, it’s all right, babe…

# 3. Daftburger: Jilted John, Jilted John ‘Gordon is a moron.’ Nuff said.

This entry was posted in Strides and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The kiss off song

  1. mum says:

    Nothing can better that it is brill . Thanks for the laugh to brighten up a dull morning 🙂
    My favorite ( from my era ! ) Hats off to Lary – Del Shannon x

  2. makemeadiva says:

    I can only think of the Jackson 5 Who’s Loving You, but that’s not right because he’s crying in the sandpit and you want a song where he’s kicking her castle over…

    What about Dylan’s Don’t Think Twice? Not enough revenge in it is there 😦

  3. OS says:

    This video is no longer available due to a copyright claim by WMG.

    Kiddo. 😉

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    Fuck them!

    (I’ll see if I can find it somewhere else. Hold on.)

  5. Daftburger says:

    Sad Cafe ‘Every Day Hurts’
    Buzzcocks ‘Ever fallen in love with someone’
    Elvis ‘Old Shep’ 😉
    Elvis ‘Wooden heart’
    Martha Reeves et al ‘Jimmy Mack’
    Carly Simon ‘You’re so vain’
    David Bowie ‘Queen Bitch’
    Jilted John ‘Jilted John’

    I could go on and on and on Ariston!

Comments are closed.