DOR15 8

My favourite car in Norwich, and possibly the world, is a Ford Capri driven by an elderly lady in a blue rinse/possible wig type affair. It’s not the sort of car one associates with that age group; my guess would be that it’s been in DOR15es ownership since it was a new Ford Capri, twenty-five years or more. Anyway, today Doris pulled out rather wildly in front of me and I followed her down the road beyond my intended turning point because I thought to myself, what my blog readers would love would be a picture of this car (it is white with a black roof) and its occupant along with its excellent personalised plate (and I mean this too: every other personalised plate in history is money wasted on cack but this one is great). Doris was finally forced to slow down and come to a halt by a red light beside the railway station. I then utilised a device that I never, ever use by leaning out of my car window and papping her with the camera on my mobile phone. There is something up with it, and no amount of fiddling will make it go back to normal.

Pop Art Doris in Capri, via Motorola

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to DOR15 8

  1. shep207 says:

    I did photography at uni and all I did for three years was extensive photoshop restoration and editing. I can’t get that to look even remotely like a photograph..

    It’s very easy to make a photograph look like that but impossible to undo it.
    Is it one of those pointless settings on the camera which has no useful purpose whatsoever and no-one ever uses? (Apart from you apparently).

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    Thanks for trying shep. Is the shop open yet?

  3. Daftburger says:

    Looks very seventies and fits the subject matter perfectly……..context!

    Did you take the camera out of an air conditioned environment into the warmth?

    CALVVVVVVVVVVIIIIIIIN! 😉

  4. OS says:

    You haven’t put it in the washing machine, have you? 🙂

    You goin’ the match tomorrow boy?

    GGOS.

  5. OS says:

    Yes, Calvin will no. Where are these bloody half-yanks when you need them?

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    No washing machine that is your job ‘Daz’ but now phone has gone back normal aneway.

    Am at match and then going down King’s Hall, Stoke centre laters for Soul All Nighter launch of filum ‘Soul Boy’ something to with a friend of mine. Tell Swiss in case he fancies some dancing. And Mr Pink too so he doesn’t cry at being left out.

  7. OS says:

    Soul boy! Take your black cross with you. 🙂

    Might c u then.

  8. mikethegerm says:

    That looks like every approximation of being “on drugs” used in 1980s television

  9. shep207 says:

    Not quite, I’m planning for mid september just before the Newcastle match.

    The shop is pretty much fitted out now and most of my stock is waiting to be delivered so I’ve just got lots of small jobs and advertising to do.

    My brother managed to completely blow the lighting while trying to put up my new lights so I’m looking for an electrician who actually knows what they’re doing and won’t rip me off.

  10. Stephen Foster says:

    I’ve got a brother that could blow the lights for you and cause some further structural damage so we can at least rule him out…

  11. calvininjax says:

    I am waiting for a sneak attack by the Japanese before I get involved. 😉

    I no nossink!

  12. calvininjax says:

    Every approximation?

  13. OS says:

    Are you pair ahloosingating?

  14. Daftburger says:

    And in other news Jeanette Winterson what a bitch!

  15. Stephen Foster says:

    Explain yourself burger; was she in the car with Dor15?

  16. Daftburger says:

    Possibly she seems to be an expert on everything. Just been watching some sort of newsnight from Edinburgh and she was on the panel pretty much rubbishing everything with pseudo intellectual shite.

  17. Stephen Foster says:

    Ah, situation normal.

    Late Review from Edinburgh is always preternaturally repulsive and that self-regarding troglodyte is just one of the reasons.

    Nb: we were watching the BB evictions. We love Josie.

Comments are closed.