Twitter/ambivalence

The bigger part of me thinks it’s just another way of frittering away valuable time, that if it had been around fifteen years ago I’d never have even managed to write a single two-page short story. On the other hand I found that lovely picture of my boy on there and then I’ve just come across this great piece of writing by Christopher Hitchens on his new cancer. A few years ago George Galloway had to go and testify to the US senate on something to do with Saddam Hussein. Hitchens was present at the inquiry or senate commission or whatever it was and Galloway greeted him with one of my all time favourite lines of salutation – Ah! Here he comes, the alcoholic popinjay! Popinjay is a word that never gets used. I had to look it up. I’d like to think I’m the the only man alive who is a fan of Damien Hirst AND George Galloway.

This entry was posted in It Cracks Like Breaking Skin and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Twitter/ambivalence

  1. OS says:

    As you say, that was a great piece of writing. Well worth not doing any writing.

    Christopher Hitchens: he da boy. Well, for as long as he can be.

    I wil not comment on Galloway.

    M. le etc…

  2. faceless says:

    I love details, so I hate this post…

    The Hitchens debate was about 4 months after the Senate heraring.

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    Welcome to the blog faceless post-hater. What ‘Hitchens debate?’

  4. calvininjax says:

    Christopher Hitchens is da man.

    On BBC America’s coverage of the last presidential election, you know the one that Obama won, Hitchens described Sarah Palin as “an insult to democracy”.

    Just for that he will forever be remembered by me.

Comments are closed.