Barnett Newman

I just wanted to see how a splash of red would look in the context of this new austere theme. I found this blog or whatever it is here while I was looking for images. Easy commercial options abound all around, selling out is the path of least resistance; artists are easy to spoof, and I have to say that site is all wrong.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Barnett Newman

  1. markelt says:

    Shurely that blog has a point. Too much modern art is asking the question ‘what is art?’ Everybody involved appears to be stuck in an infinite feedback loop. I’m not suggesting we should return to yer Constables and whatever, but I’m not surprised it all leaves many of us cold.

  2. calvininjax says:

    You had me worried there for a minute. I thought I had dozed off, missed my stop and ended up at Bag End.

  3. OS says:

    I agree with Eli. All this balls about what is art is distracting. I don’t what it is, but I know it when I see it, so why not leave it at that.

    Calvin, is that an underhand compliment… or what? Hah hah.

    GGOS.

  4. OS says:

    Oh, I forgot to say…

    …that splash of red is magnificent, winger, but I have to put my aviators on before I click on your blog now. :)

    OPS.

  5. OS says:

    Ps…

    There’s a comment ‘over there’ I’ve made that requires an appraisal from you dullard genii. I’m waiting.

    Hold on…

  6. Geraldine says:

    Back from my holidays and so much here to catch up on, what with this and “the other side” now up and running! I read Trezza’s book while away, it brought back some memories from my childhood, made all the more surprising by the fact that I was in my childhood home when reading it… Strange how things come together like that, is it called synchronicity? Anyway, I loved the book!

    I also love the new “austere” look of your blog, that photo is one of the best.

  7. Geraldine says:

    I see my new email address has given me a new girly pink icon!

  8. Stephen Foster says:

    Post-camera art had to do something, it’s only natural it became a branch of philosophical enquiry. Do you feel left out because you can’t *feel* Rothko like other MCGs?

  9. Stephen Foster says:

    Now we know what the g stands for in gmail : )

  10. Stephen Foster says:

    Thanks Geraldine, I copied the blog theme from Old Stokie if you can believe that! Am going to direct T to this thread …

    Going on holiday in your childhood home must be odd (and wouldn’t really work for me, being a terrace half-way up Pittshill Bank, which looks like it sounds it might…)

  11. markelt says:

    It’s not philosophical enquiry. It’s mostly navel gazing.

  12. makemeadiva says:

    That red is not chalky enough for my liking.

    I don’t understand why colour is frowned upon, unless it comes on a canvas.

  13. Stephen Foster says:

    You can have a Cherry Red front door, but leave it there; the insides are for parchment.

  14. Daftburger says:

    All this ‘Art’ stuff is a bit ‘The Emporers Newy Clothes. Didn’t I read somewhere that are is on art if the individual perceives it to be art or are the voices returning……..again!

    I like that picture. It reminds me of some of the thing I’ve created with paint. Pity the stripe (zip) isn’t white though!

    An austere blog for austere times, ‘Dave’ would be proud!

  15. Daftburger says:

    :-D

  16. Stephen Foster says:

    Interrogating the viewer through through the surface of a canvas.

  17. Stephen Foster says:

    Cripes, to me this was all so subconscious, but I think you’ve hit on it there with an intuitive daftburgerian analysis…

Comments are closed.