Today we went to the zoo

Zoos usually leave me feeling somewhat uneasy at the balance between husbandry and prisonery, but in the main the animals seemed rather happy, and this mother was a real doter. The baby was twelve day’s old.

This entry was posted in Walking Ollie and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Today we went to the zoo

  1. calvininjax says:

    Just when I was beginning to think you had sold your camera, along come these two cute shots.

    Those eyelashes would put Danny La Rue/Lily Savage* to shame.

    *I think that covers the age range of your regular subscribers. 😉

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    Haha. Who does drag these days anyway?

  3. Daftburger says:

    Or to put it another way every days drags, man! 😦

    Memories of ‘We’re all going to the zoo tomorrow, zoo tomorrow…….’ and massive ques to Chester in redot wevver.

  4. OS says:

    A zoo in Naarwich. I didn’t *no.

    Nice one, Calvin. Your long spell in the US has not dimmed your long memory. 😉

    Oi, daftbugger, aint it strange that the wevver was always redot all those yonks ago. Did it never rain? I can’t remember it ever raining. ‘Twas just passed* Chester Zoo that I first saw the sea. Gronant Sands, and I would be about ten. Which leads me on to an anecdote. 😉

    My lad and his missus and kids went wif frends on one of these five quid all-in things out of The Sun, and it was to a caravan site at Gronant. He knew there was summat a bit dodgy about it when he went in the caravan and everything, even the kettle, was chained down. And then the evening began. Oh dear!

    Scousers, millions of ’em. Fighting and swearing and kifs effing and blinding and dogs fighting and that sort of stuff. He packed his car up and left them to it. He said it was then that he realised he was no longer ‘working class’. 🙂

    GGOS.

  5. Stephen Foster says:

    Stokies have always been rather posh compared to Scousers though, Swiss Tony isn’t really comparing like with like there. I mean, for instance, where we have Lobby, they have this horrendous pot of stuff that everything you can lay your hands on gets thrown into, called Scouse.

    Hold on…

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    nb. the zoo is in a village called Banham about 20 miles south

  7. Jane says:

    Stephan,
    I have been re-reading “Walking with Ollie” these past few days. It is the most wonderful book. I laughed because it really is funny/awful with what you both endured. But what a wonderful and moving journey for you all.
    Re-reading it gave me time to savour many parts I had forgotten and remember those I had previously loved..Martin, Miller, Sparky, Linus et al………..
    Dear Ollie……….what a soul…….In one of your photographs he looks somewhat like a kangaroo – I think it was the photo where he was discovering rabbits!
    So, thank you AGAIN for Ollie…………………..

  8. Stephen Foster says:

    Thanks so much for that, Jane, it’s pride-making to know I’ve written one that people can re-read : )

    I could never write Ollie now, being such a hopeless complete novice owner was huge a part of the ‘joy’ (‘m a pro now, of course, that’s why Dylan is so “well-trained…”)

  9. Rita Huston says:

    just finished reading “Walking Ollie”. I found it by accident in a school library in Exeter, NH. thank you so much, I haven’t laughed out loud while reading a book in a long time. Sincerely, Rita Huston

  10. Stephen Foster says:

    Thanks so much for taking the time to find us and say that Rita, and welcome to the blog. Quite a range of odd stuff going on here at the moment but I’m just about to restore some sanity by putting up a picture of Dylan cat-napping…

Comments are closed.