I was given this

it has an excellent, brief style of writing:

No. 11 – SHEEP’S HEAD BROTH

Get the butcher to split the sheep’s head into halves, wash these clean, and put them into a boiling pot with two gallons of water; set this on the fire to boil, skim it well, add carrots, turnips, onions, leeks, celery, thyme, or winter savoury, season with pepper and salt; add a pint of Patna rice, or Scotch barley and allow the whole to keep gently boiling by the side of the fire for three hours, adding a little water to make up for the deficiency in quantity occassioned by boiling.

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I was given this

  1. makemeadiva says:

    Coincidentally I gave the following a home today:

    Moorish Recipes collected & compiled by John, 4th Marquis of Bute.

    I haven’t read it yet, some is in Arabic, but I have picked up the grace before meals which is “Bismillah”.

  2. makemeadiva says:

    Locust Bread and a whole page of Nota Bene.

    Will have to steal idea and transport to MMDLand.

  3. shep207 says:

    Why would you boil the rice for three hours??

  4. markelt says:

    To show it who’s boss.

    My mum was an old school English cook but I never realised it till I left home. Veg had to be cooked till all its colour was in the water. Beef had to be roasted to one third of its original size and spaghetti was boiled till each strand was the thickness of your little finger finger.

  5. calvininjax says:

    Our spaghetti came out of a can marked Heinz and was usually served on toast.

    Pass the Parmesan? You have got to be joking. 😉

  6. OS says:

    I know now why you’re ‘big boned’, Eli. Ho ho ho.

    That sheeps head broth reminds me of that goat’s soup we had at your place.

    Keep on karting. XXX’s to JB, MJY, Tilly and C.

    M.

  7. markelt says:

    Two fingers in that post now seems like a happy accident. Big boned indeed.

  8. OS says:

    Hold on…

    😉

  9. mikethegerm says:

    Madeleines were to Proust what a cloven sheep’s head is to someone who worked at Tunstall Market.

  10. Stephen Foster says:

    I’m glad you’re here thegerm, you’re sparking my blog right up with your literary/cuisine-based observations.

  11. Stephen Foster says:

    But where will you get the locusts?

  12. OS says:

    Nice! I’ll be the first to admit that ‘germ’ is a lively poster, and that he has a certain wit I enjoy.

    However, this post from you would suggest that others, like me and daftbugger, are rather dull. We do have other places we can go, you know!

    **BIG SHOUT**

    Oi, daftbugger, I won’t treat you like this ‘over there’. 😉

    GGOS.

    NB: Oi, winger I’m just in the process of doing a blog about you. You’re welcome to visit, or you can stay in the confines of your ‘lively’ blog here. Phhhttt!

Comments are closed.