Whatever would Peter Dimmock think?

It’s an illustration that the world has gone even more than usually insane when a respected BBC sports presenter opens a twitter account in order to call a journalist ‘a twat‘ (even if, as in this case, with it being AA Gill, the description may be more apt than usual) and then cries out over the playground ether to Stephen Fry for back up. I am nearly ashamed to admit that I have actually been following this saga on my own new twitter a/c.

This post partly exists in order to record grey-man’s reaction/comments to the story as I know he has recoiling-backwards from the screen issues with Clare Balding, responses that rival the powerful emotions that are aroused in him when confronted by Whoopi Goldberg – (she has done something to rub him up the wrong way, I can’t remember what…)

In the old days, the good days, when chaps were coves

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Whatever would Peter Dimmock think?

  1. calvininjax says:

    Clare Balding? Never heard of her.

    Why is one of your tags “Whoopi Golding”? Was she John’s wife? 😉

  2. Daftburger says:

    Oh no dunner start me on yet another of our much loved sports presenters! The expertise she brings to the beebs coverage of Rugby League is nothing short of astonishing!

    It reminds me of an Alan Partridge episode………’Your all on the BBC gravy train………wish I was.’ ‘Smell my cheese’.

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    I just slip the odd one in to check you’re paynig attention Calvin : )

  4. OS says:

    Despite chuckling like a demented hen at this…

    “”Now back to the dyke on a bike, puffing up the nooks and crannies at the bottom end of the nation.”

    …I’m on Clare’s side here, and I will accept Eli’s rath.

    M. le etc…

  5. markelt says:

    Hold on.

    My thing with Whoopi Goldberg is:

    The closing scene of Jumpin* Jack Flash with Jonathan Pryce which made me want to kick the screen in and nearly ruined Brazil for ever for me.

    Sister Act which I watched as part of a misguided attempt to get a girl to think I might have something in common with her.

    Like Daftburger, my thing with Clare Balding is having some horsey bull dyke* offering opinions about football and rugby league when she has never shown any interest in them until she was paid to do so.

    This is made difficult because AA Gill is clearly a twat as she says, but equally clearly has only scored the open goal she offered him by a) being a lesbian and b) riding around on a bike in a telly programme and, of course, AA Gill is absolutely delighted that she has taken offence.

  6. Daftburger says:

    One comment you may find amusing is a twit which said if Clare is a Dyke on a Byke does that mean Gill rides a punt?

Comments are closed.