Embrace

Life is odd. I needed to hear some music before I started writing this morning and this band came into my mind from nowhere, except I was thinking about notions of failure, and, in the context of Brit Pop, of which Embrace represented the fag end, I don’t think they ever really made it. In addition, the singer has a compelling inadequacy to sing (there’s something in music recording now called autotune, a device for tuning the human voice up and making it seem as if everyone can sing: what a horrible leveling-out; at least he came before that.) So I searched youtube and the first video was this one below which I’ve never seen before. It begins with a swimming pool scene. Most of my fiction includes a swimming pool scene, and it’s the swimming pool scene that I’m currently working on. It’s a lovely video, I think, outside the band shots the external narrative collages a series of quotidian images which manage, in accumulation, to make the mundane seem somehow frightening and brilliant at the same time. That’s all I’m really after in my fiction; I think it’s harder than it sounds.

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir, The Song House and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Embrace

  1. makemeadiva says:

    Shepherd’s Bush and those football pitches under the Westway – how can they go wrong.

  2. Daftburger says:

    ‘il cantante ha una bellissima voce.. ‘ I guess it’s subjective?

    And how do you quantify success? Is art now measured in commercial success? 😦

    Imagine Dylan, Hendrix, Cocker, Jagger, Lemmy, the list could go on, with autotune but I guess that nowadays most of them wouldn’t have become a ‘success’.

  3. OS says:

    The reason you do swimming pools is that you once swam in the Eton College one. It had a strange affect on your sykee.

    “Embedding disabled by request.” Which makes this piece useless.

    M. le etc…

    NB: Just been on Eli’s blog and he’s moaning. Again!

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    You could never autotune Dylan not even with a nickel-titanium nuclear-powered autotuner.

    I didn’t explain myself very well there at all (I failed); the failure I’m thinking about is the one of self-perception. I don’t know whether those guys think they were a success or not, but I’m thinking about the gap between what you’ve achieved and what you feel like you’ve achieved.

  5. Stephen Foster says:

    “watch on youtube” comes up underneath it.

    I don’t know why they do that – the Mogul tells me they specifically tell youtube not to disable (which is an option) so as to get Tinchy videos as wide an audience as possible…

  6. Daftburger says:

    Self perception is a killer! Maybe because you’ve had success your feeling of failure is magnified by your own perceived feelings that you’re failing. Succes breeds failure or self perceived failure?

    Any reviewer who expresses rage and loathing for a novel is preposterous. He or she is like a person who has put on full armor and attacked a hot fudge sundae.
    Kurt Vonnegut

  7. makemeadiva says:

    Gut quote. The vitriol of some reviewers is quite bilious-making.

    I am thinking of getting a t-shirt that sez

    “Love Your Haterz”. I saw it yesterday. We should all get one 🙂

Comments are closed.