Apropos

of nothing. That’s really the only usage of apropos one ever hears, isn’t it? But this apropos is apropos of a link I was just looking at on makemeadiva’s blog, to a cultural reportage site called Flavourwire. The link reported on yesterday’s exchange of paintings between Obama and Dave. Elsewhere on the site I found this page of literary tattoos, which are rather swell. What I want to say is that if anyone ever wants to write She Stood There Laughing on their body they ought to be very careful where they put it. (Nb: one of the images on the link is PG rated)

This is Angelina Jolie’s arm and these numbers and letters are apparently the co-ordinates of where her children were born.

This entry was posted in She Stood There Laughing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Apropos

  1. Daftburger says:

    Winger!! (Shouted in a girly voice). There’s one of them there pictures with a bit of pierced nipple breast on. Please give a warning next time! 😛

  2. makemeadiva says:

    I have used apropos in an eagerly awaited draft post about men’s trouser length.

    *throws thesaurus on floor*

    Now what? 😉

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    Now what = check today’s runners and riders for a nag called Apropos of course…

  4. Chiffs says:

    Peaches Geldof has a daisy chain running down her whole body, but even that isn’t as horrible and stupid as Jolie’s co-ordinates. Makes me (strangely) very angry.

  5. Daftburger says:

    Thats what I thought. If some pirates found her dead woulkd they go looking for hidden treasure at those co-ordinates?

  6. Daftburger says:

    P.S. Is Ms Jolie a treasure? Well she has got a sunken chest bdum tish! 😀

  7. Chiffs says:

    Would it be hidden in a Pitt?

  8. makemeadiva says:

    The co-ordinates are only a feature given the vast quantity of children she has adopted from overseas.

    My arm would have one co-ordinate – Homerton, Hackney x 2. Hardly worth bothering.

    I might have a Whistlejacket on my back one day, ask to be skinned in my will and enter the Turner Prize posthumously. Or did someone do that already?

  9. Stephen Foster says:

    Perhaps have ‘East End squared’ tattoed in a suitable Gothic script. That would be more enigmatic & enfin the Turner Committee might think you belonged to a gang too and put you in group show.

    Is adopting vast amounts of children from overseas a good or a bad thing, I’m never sure.

  10. makemeadiva says:

    I’d say not good for the child’s psyche, even if it’s better for the child materially.

    And why so many? It’s just a very upmarket children’s home with film star staff.

  11. Stephen Foster says:

    Awkward isn’t it. It looks a bit like collecting cars at the worst interpretation.

    Still, the kids will get to write excellent ‘rich misery’ misery memoirs out of it…

  12. Daftburger says:

    Well when I finally get to China I intend to adopt a couple of girls, there’s thousands apparently, and name them Pen Shun & Fund!

    I won’t be bringing them back ‘here’ so I guess it doesn’t count!

  13. Daftburger says:

    And I thought my jokes were Brad!

  14. OS says:

    The 5th one down: ‘on ne voit bien…’ is extremely sexy and apropos to my personal taste. 😉

    OSPOS.

Comments are closed.