Elvis has left the Building

I never wear these, they’re not really me, but every wardrobe must have certain items that might one day totally happen. For instance, I have a herringbone jacket I never wore for five years post-purchase until it suddenly came into regular usage.

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Elvis has left the Building

  1. Geraldine says:

    I reflected for all of a minute on whether I should admit this or not, but I have an alarming number of items in my wardrobe which have rarely been worn post purchase and indeed are unlikely ever to be. It’s a sad admission on a number of counts; there’s going to be a big clear-out any day now.

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    Everybody has these, don’t they? (Apart from Old Stokie who will wear anything.)

    The gap in perception between what things look like on you in a shop and what they really look like can be vast. How is that?

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    Nb: see also – I must have been having a thin day that day as it has never fit me since…

  4. makemeadiva says:

    Fluctuating self-image would account for the shop thing.

    I get round it by never trying things on and taking them back. You can be more brutal in your culling in your own mirror.

    Except sunglasses. I try those on exhaustively, but have not found a better pair than I already have, although I do occasionally “borrow” a pair of Oakleys.

  5. Geraldine says:

    I think it’s also something to do with the reasons for shopping in the first place, which are usually all the wrong ones. I’m not sure that men do this but women will go out and shop because they’re feeling a bit down, a bit angry with someone, a bit bored, a bit spendthrift or as Diva says because the self-image isn’t great at that moment: any reason, in fact, other than actually needing the clothes. More often than not, the result is a hole in the bank balance and an outfit that doesn’t fit properly, hasn’t improved any of the above feelings but has added a bit of guilt and a bit of deviousness: “This? New? Gosh no, I’ve had this for ages …”

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    The most common regret I really have when shopping is not having bought two of a thing that turns out to be something I love. When it dawns on you how perfect it is & you go back two/three months later thinking, I really need a back up of this item, there’s never one left.

Comments are closed.