Pseuds’ World Cup

I’m on the lookout for stuff like this from Michael Nyman, writing in the Guardian in 2005:

I maintain that the best writing about QPR – and possibly about football – was a piece I commissioned from John Tilbury for Vogue. It was a musicological analysis of the descending minor third in the ‘Rodney!’ chant that QPR fans of the early ’70s sang for Rodney Marsh, based on the differences in the chant when QPR were winning and when they were losing.

Rodney!

This entry was posted in Listák Könyve Futball, The Book of Lists: Football and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pseuds’ World Cup

  1. calvininjax says:

    I’m on the look out for dumb fuck TV commentators and pundits who do not know the laws of the game.

    Martin Tyler and Efan Ekoku on ESPN both claimed Mexico’s “goal” in the first half should not have been disallowed for offside.

    And how many defenders were between Vela and the goal?

  2. Al says:

    My beloved team mentioned on the blog(albeit I’ve noticed a tad late!)

    Michael Nyman has long proclaimed his QPR loyalties and wrote a magnificent ode to “Sir” Stanley Bowles.

    Bowles,Marsh,Currie,Wegerle,Stainrod… all that flair. Neil Warnock wouldn’t allow that kind of nonsense.

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    If you find the ode I could most thrillingly hoist it to a blog post of its own! After all, there have been no pseuds WC entries so far (& very little to get pseudish about).

    It might be quite ugly, but at least with Colin you have a chance of Promotion…

  4. Al says:

    My post doesn’t seem to have shown up (possibly rejected beacuse I’d put a link in) .so apologies if double post..

    It wasn’t actually an ode. Nyman wrote the musical score to a TV programme called “The Final Score” which featured QPR and especially God…err… Stan Bowles.

    Winger – you probably drifted off ages ago but I know you’d want the full picture for journalistic accuracy. 😉

    Wish I’d kept the Videotape that i recorded it on…

Comments are closed.