You Always Know When it’s Summer in Norfolk

because the number of manned speed traps increases exponentially round one particular bend (round a bend, out of sight) on the A47 towards Great Yarmouth where cops appear firing speed guns at you. Another location is in the village of Martham, a few miles from the coast. I’m a regular on this route for my runs in the dunes with Dylan, I wished we had a normal camera with us tonight because just after the village of Martham we saw a barn owl sitting on top of a Give Way sign. That was fabulous, but the point of this post is this: I bet the Cumbria cops are the same as those in Norfolk. I bet they know the roads better than anything and I don’t buy it that a cabbie has that much advantage over them in that specific respect. I think in the end they’re going to be in big trouble, the more you hear, the more bungled it looks. The report here is just the start of it.

This bit I’m finding hard to believe:

A police transit van, with two unarmed officers, then joined the pursuit and continued to follow Bird.

Bird appeared to pull into a driveway, turned and pointed the gun directly at the officers, before driving off at high speed.

The officers attempted to follow but were unable to locate him.

Attempted to follow? We’re unable to locate? A cynic might say that’s because they spend too much time in laybys taxing holidaymakers and have grown flabby. If I’m following the chronology here seven more people die after this attempt to follow. And I’m not being flippant but ‘drove off at high speed’ – in a Citroën Picasso? That’s a people carrier with max speed of 112mph and a 0-60 of 12-13 seconds.

This entry was posted in Are You With Me? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You Always Know When it’s Summer in Norfolk

  1. calvininjax says:

    You have read my piece on the Cumbria Police debacle, Stephen, and I agree they have a lot to answer for. If Bird had been driving a BMW 7 Series, I could well believe he could have lost those two officers in the Ford Transit but, like you say, a Citroën Picasso!

    My own conclusion is that the said officers were obviously not wearing brown corduroy trousers and headed back to the police station for a change of uniform.

    I suppose the Chief Constable is still sitting pretty rather than tendering his resignation or requesting the office revolver.

    It takes a brave and honourable man to shoulder responsibility for a fiasco. The last one I can recall was Lord Carrington who resigned as Foreign Secretary when the Argentinians invaded the Falklands.

    Party politics aside, men of that calibre are few and far between in public life these days. Doing the decent thing is increasingly becoming anachronistic.

Comments are closed.