Peppermint Patti (the EDP have started re-running the Peanuts)

It’s starting to totally grip and fascinate me. I’m going to end up doing a PhD on it, though I imagine there are about a thousand of them already. Look at this stuff just from a casual wiki, it’s sub-intense, drop a couple of ‘paradigmatically’ s in there and you’re in business:

Not until a few years after she was introduced into the strip did it become apparent that Peppermint Patty had a crush on Charlie Brown. Peppermint Patty frequently plays lovers’ games with Charlie Brown, and gets frustrated or even angry when he does not take the bait; he does like Peppermint Patty, but only as a friend (though their friendship is occasionally strained by her strong personality and bossiness toward him). Originally, Peppermint Patty played reverse psychology; she would often say, “You kind of like me, don’t you, Chuck?” when it was clear that it was Peppermint Patty who had the crush on Charlie Brown, while he not only did not have a crush on her, he also did not quite know what to make of her. His true love was the unattainable Little Red-Haired Girl, and having a girl actually like him was unexplored territory.

Why aren’t you in the credits, Sir?’

I don’t know Marcie, and don’t call me Sir!’

This entry was posted in Are You With Me? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Peppermint Patti (the EDP have started re-running the Peanuts)

  1. makemeadiva says:

    I am so shallow I have never got beyond my childhood Snoopylove.

    Good luck with the PhD

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    I’ll be copy and pasting that corker up to a main post in due course for one of my ‘Garfield lies on his back and can’t be arsed to do anything’ entries.

  3. Daftvurger says:

    ‘Peppermint Patty played reverse psychology; she would often say, “You kind of like me, don’t you, Chuck?” when it was clear that it was Peppermint Patty who had the crush on Charlie Brown’

    That’s not reverse psychology! :-/

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    Good point, but perhaps is if you’re an American and a cartoon character.

  5. Daftburger says:

    Did you like the ‘Daftverger’ not intentional, but perhaps a Freudian slip! 🙂

Comments are closed.