Don’t bother, they’re here

So we were pottering about in the kitchen listening to Dale Winton – Pick of the Pops Take II on Radio 2 (which anyone can accidentally do). It was a vintage week in a vintage year ie 1975.* There was Once Bitten Twice Shy by Mott the Hoople, there was Autobahn by Kraftwerk, there was Loving You by Minnie Ripperton, there was Gladys Knight & The Pips doing The Way We Were (‘Can it be that it was all so simple then, or has time re-written every line…?’ – I was already stemming the tears) and then there was Send in the Clowns, by Judy Collins to which I said, ”Don’t bother, they’re here,” is the saddest line of all of these sad, sad lines, isn’t it, and that the whole lyric of Send in the Clowns is the saddest lyrics ever, too, no?’

To which T replied, ‘Well, there’s You’re A Big Girl Now…’

To which I replied, ‘Well yes, that’s very true, and context is all, you have to consider the entirety of the whole lyric here, but to recognise yourself as clowns, you know, with painted teardrops falling down your sad white cheeks with your miserable down-turned mouth…’

The nominations are opened.

What are the saddest lyrics ever?

Don’t you love farce?
My fault I fear.
I thought that you’d want what I want.
Sorry, my dear.
But where are the clowns?
Quick, send in the clowns.
Don’t bother, they’re here.

* There was also Whispering Grass by Windsor Davies and Don Estelle and Stand by Your Man by Tammy Wynette occupying # 2 and # 1 respectively.

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Don’t bother, they’re here

  1. OS says:

    Darling are you feeling
    The same thing that I’m seeing?
    The troubles of the day
    Took my breath away
    Took my breath away

    Now you’re no longer talking
    And I’m no longer hearing;
    There’s nothing left to say
    Said it anyway
    Said it anyway
    And I want you…not
    I need you…not
    I’m dying
    ‘Cause this is the saddest song I’ve got
    The saddest song I’ve got

    Darling are you healing
    From all those scars appearing?
    Don’t it hurt a lot?
    Don’t know how to stop
    Don’t know how it stops

    Now there’s no sense in seeing
    The colors of the morning,
    Can’t hold the clouds at bay
    Chase them all away
    Chase them all away

    And I’m frozen still
    Unspoken still
    Heartbroken
    Remembering something I forgot…
    Something I forgot.

    GGOS. *tears* 😉

  2. Chiffs says:

    OS, very funny, but my first nomination is Fruit Tree by Nick Drake. (Then again, practically anything by Nick Drake can make me cry.) Actually, every time I hear Annie Lennox I want to cry, but not for the proper reason. And didn’t she do one called Cry? She should – in the words of the famous OS – just do one.
    Oh, just thought of Mr Bojangles . . .

  3. Chiffs says:

    No, this is the thread definer: These Days: (have to hear Glen Campbell doing it)

    I’ve been out walking
    I don’t do too much talking these days
    These days

    These days I seem to think a lot
    About the things that I forgot to do
    And all the times I had the chance to

    I’ve stopped my rambling
    I don’t do too much gambling these days
    These days

    These days I seem to think about
    How all the changes came about my way
    And I wonder if I’ll see another highway

    I’ll keep on moving
    I’m bound to be improving these days
    These days

    And if I seem to be afraid to live the life
    That I have made and sown
    It’s just that I’ve been healing so long

    I’ve stopped my dreaming
    I don’t do too much dreaming these days
    These days

    These days I sit on cornerstones
    And count the time in quarter tones to ten
    Please don’t confront me with my failures
    I’ve not forgotten them

  4. markelt says:

    I have to inform you the saddest song is Louise, as done by Tony Christie. Also one of the greatest covers ever. Hold on

  5. makemeadiva says:

  6. makemeadiva says:

    That whole bus stop middle-aged thing just ramps the pathos up to an almost unbearable point 😦

  7. Stephen Foster says:

    This is no way to wake up on a Sunday.

    I’m in the right doldrums now; I might have to go and write a poem.

  8. makemeadiva says:

    Well I thought that. Is this the Slit Your Wrists for Breakfast Blog?

    But then I decided I’d show willing and join in.

    This is the inevitable payback for listening to Dale Winton in the first place.

  9. Panini Pete says:

    I always found the lyrics to the Dead Kennedys very sad then Nouvelle Vague gave it a whole new resonance

  10. OS says:

    Jeezus, this is morbidity at it’s worst. I can’t stand it any more.

    Hold on.

    GGOS.

  11. Stephen Foster says:

    I was only saying to Herself last night that your line, ‘I’ve had a hard life but I don’t sit outside Shaffers on a battered sofa caterwauling about it,’ in regard to Johnny Cash’s ‘Hurt’ is the most persuasive image.

    I really think you should do it. If we filmed that we could win the Turner Prize.

  12. Stephen Foster says:

    That is a rather sad predicament, though I do know people who’ve got pregnant that way all the same.

  13. Panini Pete says:

    ‘Mates’ condoms and Richard Beardy Branson were my downfall.

  14. Daftburger says:

    Wars are necessary to stop people making records like this! 😀

    How do you put youtube linx?

  15. Daftburger says:

    I come to this website walkingollie
    When I’m feeling low to make me jolly!
    Be reading this just brings me down
    It’s turned into sadnessville and melancoly town!

    I’m here all week, I sank yow!

  16. Daftburger says:

    *melancholy

Comments are closed.