The all new penguin joke

They’re laying an orange cinder track over a shortcut-walk that dog walkers have been wearing into a piece of land round the back of our most local broad all winter long because the pre-existing orange cinder track at lakeside has been flooded out by the lake itself. They don’t need to do it really, the foot-worn track is fine, but it does remind me of one of my favourite jokes, about orange paths. Being too lazy to write it out myself I went searching for it with a view to doing a cut and paste job, but instead I found this, which is a new joke (to me). I’m leaving it in the American lexicon because I like the expression, gas station, and I learn something here too : the idea that clerks serve petrol.

A man drives to a gas station and has his tank filled up. While doing this the clerk spots two penguins sitting on the back seat of the car. He asks the driver, “What’s up with the penguins in the back seat?” The man in the car says, “I found them. I asked myself what to do with them but I haven’t a clue.” The clerk ponders a bit then says, “You should take them to the zoo.” “Yeah, that’s a good idea,” says the man in the car and drives away. The next day the man with the car is back at the same gas station. The clerk sees the penguins are still in the back seat of the car. “Hey, they’re still here! I thought you were going to take them to the zoo!” “Oh, I did,” says the driver, “And we had a swell time. Today I’m taking them to the beach.”

There was a mummy penguin and a baby penguin...

This entry was posted in And She Laughed No More and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The all new penguin joke

  1. calvininjax says:

    Did you knit the sweater for the penguin? Good job!

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    That remark only reminds me of what you get when you cross a sheep with a kangaroo.

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    One of the great things about your current situation of new-grey-dadness is that you are going to be able to do a dissertation on children’s television over the next decade!

  4. Daftburger says:

    Pingu makes more sense than most English kids tv programmes!

  5. OS says:

    Hah hah. I must have watched that Pingu episode 500 times over the last ten years. I’ve still got all the vids. :)

    I agree with Daftbugger.

    Good joke, winger. You should see some of the stuff Daftbugger sends me via email. ;)

    GGOS.

Comments are closed.