Guilty pleasures

I was looking at a track list for the Radcliffe and Maconie show to see who sang Travelling Light, a track I caught the end of in the kitchen one night last week; in the usual way (or rather, unusual for those two, but usual for most) the DJs never said who it was by. I knew the song (a small, brilliant epic of lost love, with brittle lyrics) but couldn’t remember the name of the artists. The answer was of course the excellent Tindersticks. It was while looking for this that I noticed that they’d played Mahogany on the same programme. Confessing a liking for Diana Ross is difficult for the non-gay man, but really I love her stuff, nothing more so than Mahogany (Do You Know Where You’re Going To?) with the possible exception of Touch Me in the Morning, (a small, brilliant epic of lost love, with brittle lyrical undercutting: We’ve seen how love can grow, now we’ll see how it dies). Each song poses difficult and searching questions and scenarios and the two appear, in my mind, to be linked:

Q: Where are you going to?
A: I’m going to touch her in the morning and then I’m going to walk away.

Mahogany was the title soundtrack theme to a movie of the same name, which I saw on a double-bill at the Gaumont Cinema, Tunstall, Stoke-on-Trent in the late seventies (in the back row, with my first girlfriend, of course – the following week it was The Deerhunter). Mahogany was on a double bill with her other film, The Lady Sings The Blues, a Billy Holiday biopic. They both attracted pretty poor press, and you can’t get either on DVD now (No, never released, is the advice given). In my memory, there is something sub-Shaft about Mahogany (which I remember preferring of the two movies). I can recall nothing about the story, I remember only street scenes in a run-down Chicago, but I found this clinical plot summary on a movie site:

Tracy, an aspiring designer from the slums of Chicago puts herself through fashion school in the hopes of becoming one of the world’s top designers. Her ambition leads her to Rome spurring a choice between the man she loves or her newfound success.

AND THEN, I FOUND THIS!

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Guilty pleasures

  1. chiffs says:

    So hideous it’s almost good – Diana is wearing a wimple, no she’s wearing a keffiyeh. Now she’s sporting a maypole while jumping on a trampoline.

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    I think Genius is the word you’re looking for.

  3. makemeadiva says:

    NO NEED TO SHOUT.

    I don’t think I can live a minute longer without a glitter bodystocking.

    Miss Ross = A Real Diva

  4. makemeadiva says:

    I just consulted with the Rebel MC and he says this is the best Diana Ross track. Biggie Smalls was my own idea and Gremlins thrown in as a bonus.

  5. Stephen Foster says:

    This a good tune but I say the Rebel MC is trying to be hard by not choosing a straight Miss Ross tune. I reckon he could be cajoled out of the closet with a bit more encouragement.

    Play him ‘All of My Life.’

    : )

  6. makemeadiva says:

    He did choose it straight up. It was me wot wonted it all Gangsta rap. I don’t really feel Miss Ross to be truthful.

    He needs no encouragement. He once came back from weekend shopping with a trendy cardigan and a Debenhams storecard and I won’t mention the time he went to the gym with a tight choker necklace on with a vest top…

  7. DAftburger says:

    ‘I don’t really feel Miss Ross to be truthful.’

    I’d love to feel Diana Ross touching me in the morning which would no doubt lead to a chain reaction, talk about aint no mountain high enough. I can hear you shouting stop in the name of (for the) love (of god).

    If loving Ms Ross is gay you’ll find me mincing round the Boothen. Better get a psychologist to come see about me, I’m still waiting, baby love! 😛

  8. Stephen Foster says:

    IT WASN’T SO MUCH SHOUTING AS FRENZIED EXCITEMENT.

    : )

  9. Stephen Foster says:

    In an exclusive ‘winger’s old days in room service’ anecdote I can reveal that even with her wig off she seemed slightly bald as long ago as 1982.

  10. makemeadiva says:

    I think even with her wig on would have been more of a shock 😉

  11. AndyP says:

    I have sung this to Tina many a time, usually after an appalling piece of driving or she’s taken us down the wrong street. 😉

    Am I dreaming but wasn’t that tune used in a medley of hits in a British Rail TV advert some years ago?

Comments are closed.