Hello, Hello, Stokie aggro, Stokie aggro**

In the aftermath of this meet up where two gangs of school kids – apparently including a number of Somalis* – arranged to rumble at Victoria Station, and where a boy died from a stabbing, I’ve heard a certain amount of the usual noises on the radio about our ‘broken society’ etc.

But it’s not a new phenomenon, is it? White youth used to routinely ‘get it on’ on post-war Bank Holiday Mondays. In the 1970s in Stoke-on-Trent when I was a kid rumbles were often arranged on the fields (ex-train lines and escarpments, grassed over and called ‘Greenways’) between Chell High School and Stanfields. Knives were not all all that common, but some kids had them. Perhaps the difference back then was that their owners were mainly afraid to use them, their real function was ‘show’. Other, ‘softer’ implements and articles that came to hand tended to be put to use as a weapon, perhaps so that no one would get seriously hurt, so that we could all meet up and do it again the following Thursday. It was, after all, very exciting (and it was, after all, them that started it, not us). Their were near misses all the same – the most deadly, and inventive, missile to come my way was a golf ball fired from a huge catapault. It missed me by millimetres but knocked my mate’s two front teeth out. I imagine it could have killed someone if it caught them right.

* I stumbled across this unpleasant and rabid extremist site called London Patriot as I was looking for a news story on this. In three or four bizarre steps the writer, the unlikely-named Carlos Cortiglia (have you had your blood lines checked out, mate?) gets from this story to a cat stuck up a tree and how that is New Labour’s fault. Still, I suppose it probably is.

** Seventies football chant

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Hello, Hello, Stokie aggro, Stokie aggro**

  1. chiffs says:

    True. We Splottites had the terrors over the Ely gang – they had a secret weapon, she was called Fat Karen. No one messed with FK. One day, she sent her minion over to tell me I was to meet her on the Bute Bridge after school. I couldn’t eat a thing all day. When I got there (you couldn’t get a sick note from your mam) all she said was “I’ll swap you my Big Six for your Got to Be There”. I didn’t know what a Big Six was – I thought it might be a gun. But she was a lover, not a fighter. My dad put Big Six on the fire when he heard it, and sent me to bed. Now that was discipline.

  2. Bilbo says:

    FK was no fool. I don’t think I’d like to tangle with this particular Splottite. Well, not on the Bute Bridge anyway. Other ways, maybe, you gorgeous thing. Alright, get ready, here we go…. . Little Boy Blue, come blow up your horn,. The sheep’s in the meadow and the cows in the corn. Ai yai ya. ;)

    Oi winger. Stop painting us Stokies as if we wus a tribe descended from the Mongolian hordes. We has class here yer knows, Well, some of us dus. Take Eli for instance. He’s a true Stokie and has posted this on his blog. You won’t find no Stokie agrro on this. It’s sex and art and sex and art as they should be. Women! God, don’t you just love ‘em! *Swoon.*

    GGOS.

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    It’s always bad news when some one offers you out to meet them on a bridge, I do know that. Look what happened to Billy Jo Spears…

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    I think Elt might be from The Westlands.

  5. Bilbo says:

    So, where does Stokeyness end? In a geographical sense, The Westlands is nearer than Chell or Stanfields. I’l bet you daren’t tell the boys from Leek or Chaydle that they’re not Stokies. Go on big man. Shout your stuff up them places and let’s see your rumbling credentials tested out proper like. ;)

    GGOS.

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    It’s not to do with geography per se [:)], it’s to do with attitude. Newcastle is for limp-wristed weeds and wets, so is Leek and Cheadle.

    Chell is right next to Chell Heath, which is Beirut for S-o-T. You’d do well not to forget that, Dresden Boy.

  7. Daftburger says:

    Chell is Vile territory!

    My dad, from Gowden’ill, used to fight Chellies over the railway line and that was in the 40′s!

  8. Stephen Foster says:

    My antecedents were right handy with half-end house bricks.

  9. markelt says:

    Wasn’t it Billy Joe McAllister or some such?

    God this text is big

  10. Stephen Foster says:

    Haha greyman you are a funny ‘young’ chap with your 20/20 vision.

  11. markelt says:

    If I knew what you meant I’d be furious / hurt / flattered.

  12. markelt says:

    Now I’ve managed to post a reply to you before you’d said anything

  13. Stephen Foster says:

    You must really be a lady then.

  14. markelt says:

    Secsist*

Comments are closed.