Items missing from the blog in recent times

1. Thoughtful articles

2. Essays on food

3. Jokes

4. Political analysis

5. Foreign affairs

6. The Spanish situation

7. Rants

This is all mainly the fault of horses and horse racing. I might correct these matters in the week ahead. Meanwhile I want to say this – the Cheltenham Gold Cup is a rare event. Ben, my companion, likes the Prestbury Park experience (which takes some considerable navigating through a crowd of 67 thousand, and is, correctly speaking, a challenge) a lot. Ben is no expert, and for myself, I am like Ben, though I follow the horses more closely. We are both passionate about football and other selected sports (sport constitutes 47% of our conversation). We play a game of squash in the Greig Centre in Alcester after racing on the Thursday (some split second timing involved here exit/traffic wise) to set us up for the following day and to maintain the challenging nature of our two days down there – I’d offer a good price that we are the only two racegoers who go dry do that – but we are able to say this about the seven minutes of the Gold Cup itself – though you are watching and punting on twelve other apparently similar races over those two days it is an event that is quite apart from the rest. It is the heavyweight championship of the world, it’s sets your hairs on end, it is compelling and thrilling in equal measure and it delivers a sense of wonder at the finish. Whether you backed the winner or not is somewhat irrelevant. Our view is that it is better than the Cup Final.

This entry was posted in Along Came Dylan, And She Laughed No More, Are You With Me?, Fetching Dylan and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Items missing from the blog in recent times

  1. chiffs says:

    No. 7 Rants: Don’t mention your ace tipster then!!

    No. 2 Food/No. 3 Jokes : Your dinner’s in the dog.

  2. Daftburger says:

    I must wear my glasses. I thought the title read things missing from the bog, we all like to read there don’t we, and this was a family argument fdeveloping! 🙂

  3. Daftburger says:

    P.S. This years fashion tip. Men would like to see their wives in something long and flowing this summer…………….preferably a river! Bdum tish!

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    My ace tipster.

  5. Stephen Foster says:

    That could make it to the jokes blog, when it comes along, were it not for the dam.

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    A beggar walked up to a well dressed woman and said, ‘I haven’t eaten anything in four days.’

    The woman looked at him and said, ‘I wish I had your willpower.’

Comments are closed.