The Network for the Post-Bureaucratic Age

I was watching the BBC news about the alleged doings of the Big Bad Bully Beef and Chips. Of course, David Cameron had something to say about it, which was, most naturally, ‘Blah, blah, blah, probably a couple of team points in it for me.’ The clip they used to illustrate these insights featured Cameron standing behind a lectern emblazoned with the slogan Network for the Post-Bureaucratic Age (slogans can only be emblazoned, they cannot be written or jotted or noted). That’s a rather bureaucratic mouthful I thought, not to mention quango-lingo, so I went to look it up. It tells you all about it here on this interesting-looking Total Politics site; in short, un-bureaucratic speak, it seems like the plan is that over the next ten years some people will make the goings on of governmental doings transparent to us all. I have seen this sort of thing before, at the erstwhile Norwich School of Art & Design when I did a bit of teaching there. The more transparent things became, the more paperwork had to be filled in to demonstrate the transparency of it all. In the end they needed a whole new building to house the bureaucrats who were needed to keep tabs on the transparency (this is true). It can only end up in one place: Kafka’s Office of Circumlocution.

I must read more of Total Politics, I have no idea what to do about voting in the forthcoming Selection.

I’m thinking that if I set up a Party For All The People Who Don’t Want to Vote For These Jerks it might win and I could be the Dictator. For my first act of being in power I would wish my predecessor well by grasping Gordon Brown by the lapels and slinging him down Downing Street in the non-bullying yet authoritative manner of someone who likes to get things done.

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Network for the Post-Bureaucratic Age

  1. markelt says:

    BNP shurely 🙂

    The great Galbraith had much to say on this whole bureaucracy stuff, as did the great C Northcote Parkinson.

    Galbraith’s schick was that when the company gets big enough, the men at the top stop being entrepreneurs and start being bureaucrats. But they reward themselves as entrepreneurs.

    Cameron is talking out of his arse. The only way you can create a post bureaucratic world is to make sure no organisations end up employing more than – say – 25 people. Absolute and utter horseshit, as indeed was the ‘classless society’.

    There’s a blog entry in this for me. Hold on.

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    If the blog can fire up just one man it has made a difference…

  3. makemeadiva says:

    I ll join. There s a big thought brewing but i m currently being bludgeoned with a big bat called: Basic consultation processes. I m slipping in and out of consciousness, but they just mentioned the big T.

  4. makemeadiva says:

    I made it, just. What I learned: that you can ask people what they think and then a) ignore the answers b) act on the answers c) stuff it under the aspidistra and forget about it.

    I also learned if you ask them too often, or in the wrong way, or do too much of a) they will get pissed off with you and ignore you or hide from you and your nosey-parker ways. Hello Nanny State?

    In eight hours of excrutiating tedium I picked up this interesting nugget: if a statutory body do either a) or c) during a “consultation”, or deny your by rights demand for Brown’s beloved “transpare-rency” you can ask for a judicial review, thereby pouring sugar in the tank of the bureaucratic motor.

    Lovely.

  5. Stephen Foster says:

    My God, that makes walking Dylan round the long block through the sleet as ‘The Canaries’ gear up to play ‘The Shrimpers’ look like a holiday in Corsica.

Comments are closed.