Uno, dos, uno-dos-tres-quattro (a dollar-nine get$ a bottle of wine)

The bottle has been the least of Gil Scott Heron’s problems. He’s not that long out of sing-sing for certain drug and bail-related felonies, and with a new album too, here. Meanwhile, this has always been one of my favourite songs and comes into my head quite a lot from nowhere. I’ve only just found this video, though, which is sensational; if this is the sort of thing you like, you’ll like this. I saw Gil Scott-Heron and his band (sometimes called the Midnight Band) play a lot when I was in my early 20s in London – when Ken Livingstone ran the GLC and Maggie was on her throne, for a short period of time they were the one of the most regular acts to be found topping the bill at open-air anti-capitalist gigs across the river from Parliament. Not that it ever changed much but a mood, but we could do with a return to that sort of thing imperatively instead of all this dressing up and fannying about you get these days.

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Uno, dos, uno-dos-tres-quattro (a dollar-nine get$ a bottle of wine)

  1. makemeadiva says:

    This is the only cool flute riff known to man.

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    Perceptive and too true.

    There’s an amusing flute episode in American Pie, the movie, but you probably need teenage boys with you too find it totally sidesplitting c/f The Inbetweeners if you’re aware of that excellent show…

  3. Bilbo says:

    That’s just brilliant, winger. The vid is great and the social message behind it and in the lyrics is what you and I are all about. Well, more me than you from your original heady hights of Chell. 😉 We mustn’t forget who we were, and deep down, it’s still a big part of what we are.

    I’ll stop there because when I get on my political soapbox, I can easily offend people. 😉

    Bx

  4. makemeadiva says:

    I am not very good at telly watching 😦

    The lyrics are very poignant, they remind me of my men’s group on a Thursday. Great guys but definitely living in the bottle, or worse.

    Great tune – Bilbo – check out The Revolution will not be televised… I can’t work this Mac to copy, paste etc.

  5. Stephen Foster says:

    Winter in America is my other most favourite (includes more great flutery, though may not technically be a riff).

    It’s a bit long for posting to the main blog, but here it is for bilbo. Lovely talked-in intro; there’s a sharper-sounding studio recording on you tube too if you just put ‘Winter in America’ into the search bar.

  6. Bilbo says:

    I’ll check out this stuff laters. I’ve got visitors from the East Coast staying for the weekend and also bowling and a Pizza Hut party for the twins 8th birthday tomorrow. I wish I lived a dull, OAP life like all the other old sods. 😦

    Bx

  7. makemeadiva says:

    I was brought tea in bed (sister) and then the internet in bed (new sister-in-law, ostensibly for my view on the Gold Cup @ Haydock) – so I’ve had a Gil Scott Heron half an hour too 🙂

    I just read that his father was the first black player for Celtic.

Comments are closed.