Perhaps he’s trying to tell you something

I didn’t see it, but I stuck an earpiece in just in time to catch the relevant piece of commentary as I walked to a football match at the Abbey Stadium. It sounded like Denman was determined to get champion jockey AP McCoy off his back in the Aon Chase, trying once to unseat him at the fourth last by apparently piling through the fence instead of clearing it and then repeating the same trick at the third last and this time succeeding. Denman has drifted to 3/1 for the Gold Cup on the back of these shenanigans but he has come out of his adventures in one piece and I suggest you pile on for the big one on March 20th. His co-owners are arch pragmatists; I would take a bit of money about Sam Thomas getting the ride back if I could find a price.

Race report.

Is it just hindsight that makes me think the horse on the right looks a bit cross?

This entry was posted in Along Came Dylan and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Perhaps he’s trying to tell you something

  1. makemeadiva says:

    This is pure supposition on my part but if nothing comes back wrong with Denman, and I suspect it won’t, the fact of the matter will be that McCoy’s riding style is too forceful for Denman.

    Everything we know about Denman is that he expects to be the dominant one. He bosses KS in the paddock at home and he if doesn’t boss on the racecourse he looks crushed.

    If McCoy “imposed” himself on Denman then that would be why the horse wouldn’t travel as expected and any difference of opinion about how to jump fences would have caused errors.

    I cannot help but feel that switching the man on board was an error of judgement. It’s clearly Denman’s way or no way. Perhaps they’ll get the message now.

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    That was what Philip said, in his own inimitable way, boy. ‘He rode him too aggressive,’ was the key expression.

  3. makemeadiva says:

    Philip is a good judge 🙂

  4. Jan says:

    I agree wholeheartedly with everything you said, Diva….and Philip too! 🙂
    Please bring back Sam Thomas for Cheltenham. I imagine that will fall on deaf ears though.:(

Comments are closed.