I am about to do an experiment

This morning I heard Trezza shreik: I knew what was coming as I had already ‘hid’ the evidence over the back of a dining chair – I had accidentally shrunk her cardigan by throwing it in the 40º cycle with my sportswear. I’ve had a look around the invaluable resource of the internet and am about to follow this advice off anyanswersdotcom:

How to unshrink a wool sweater

Like an idiot, I threw my brand new wool sweater in the wash and then in the dryer, shrinking it down about three sizes, rendering it unwearable. When I asked my roommate if there was a way to unshrink a wool sweater, he started laughing even before I could finish my question. Well my friends, I have mastered the black art of wool unshrinking and am here to share it with you.

When wool gets wet and warm, the fibers in the wool lock themselves together and don’t want to let go, resulting in shrinkage (you can get wool warm or wet, but not both). To unshrink the wool, soak the garment in warm water with a mild soap for about 10 minutes. This unlocks the fibers in the wool. Then lay the garment out on some towels in a cool place. Stretch the garment out to its original dimensions. The stretching pulls the unlocked wool fibers away from each other. Allow it to dry. The absence of heat from the drying process allows the wool fibers to set in place without locking together and shrinking the garment again.

Long story short: I have a brand new, fully functional sweater again. Stick that in your pipe and smoke it, Brian.

We’ll see, Yankee.

A Tiny Jumper, which also came up in my search, courtesy of Bugs-r-Us

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I am about to do an experiment

  1. johnnyneptune says:

    you should have hidden it better

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    It was new, there was no way.

  3. markelt says:

    Is the art of lying dead then?

    It’s political correctness gone mad.

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    If I’m entirely honest, I wasn’t sure if it wasn’t one of those small tops that ladies wear, as if, you know, it was meant to be that size and possibly hadn’t shrunk at all. That was my secret hope & in a way, leaving it out was a test for that.

  5. makemeadiva says:

    The code of “omerta” is alive and kicking round these sides. Only last week a pair of school trousers vanished. I know they have been thrown in the Thames with a concrete belt on but no-one will ever ‘fess up.

    It’s the best way.

  6. chiffs says:

    Newsflash: the woollen cardigan fits!
    . . . a Sindy Doll.

    While I’m at it, can we also have a requiem for the beautiful Agnes B blouse that got ripped up and used to varnish some floorboards?

  7. Stephen Foster says:

    It wasn’t varnish, it was stain.

  8. Bilbo says:

    Hahahaha. I chucked Swiss’s brand new expensive pully/hoody into the washer last week and then it went into the *fryer. It came out my size. He was not best pleased……but it looks great on me 😉

    Bx

  9. Stephen Foster says:

    Omerta is the only thing the kids have got against the evils of adultworld.

  10. Stephen Foster says:

    Did he leave his phone in the pocket, Sudsy?

Comments are closed.