What would you do?

I had this below come in as a comment from regular blog visitor Jan on an older post. What starts out as a good news update on her injured Ollie takes a thought provoking turn. If the owners were far enough away and my car was near enough to me I would want to risk a kidnap. Or would a cash offer do it?

News on my boy! Ollie had his staples out on Thursday night, but he has a small sore patch in the middle of the scar which he won’t leave alone so we still keep having to put the dreaded buster collar back on him, ’specially at night. He has been galloping free across Dorney Common again, to his delight, but we are trying to keep him away from bushes/ barbed wire etc. so he doesn’t aggravate the sore patch. It is just so lovely to be able to let him go again, and to see him doing the thing he loves best … running, of course!

I had to tell you, Stephen, as we were walking back to the van today after our walk on the common, some sort of 4×4 stopped near us by the side of the road ( I am not hot on makes of cars!) and a door opened and out flew four beautiful champagne (?) coloured salukis. I have never seen a saluki ‘ in the flesh’ before, but I recognised the breed from seeing photos of Dylan.
We think the owners must have been gypsies because they didn’t walk their dogs in the normal way. Instead they just drove their vehicle onto and across the common and let the dogs chase along behind them, which is a very dangerous thing to do, there being a quite busy road that runs through the common. I must admit it was a beautiful sight, these dogs streaming across the grass, but the youngest and smallest of the quartet came over to Ollie, so I let him off to meet him. He was such a beautiful young dog, but so THIN. I felt so sorry for him, I wanted to just cart him off to the van and take him home with me, but the owners whistled and shouted and he slunk off with his tail between his legs. 😦 He seemed like he wanted to come with us.

This entry was posted in Along Came Dylan, Fetching Dylan, Walking Ollie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to What would you do?

  1. chiffs says:

    Jan, Salukis are, I think, naturally pretty thin. Dylan would be the Billy Bunter of the breed on account of his penchant for pigs ears and then the rest of the pig, please, followed by a drop of milk and a biscuit. He would go with anyone if they had a bit of fried liver in their pocket. And you’re brave – I’d never liberate a dog from the Gypsies!

  2. chiffs says:

    ps: And lovely to hear that your Ollie is bouncing around again!

  3. Jan says:

    Thank you Chiffs and thank you Stephen for bumping this up so people could read it. Wasnt sure where to put it! I know salukis are pretty thin like a lot of greyhounds and lurchers ( Olie has a bit of a tum where he hasnt been off his lead for ages!) but the young saluki that approached us was exceptionallly so. 😦 He was all ribs sticking out, albeit covered by a beautiful coloured coat. I still keep thinking about him and how scared he seemed and I wish we could have kidnapped him! Maybe we will see them all over the common again. Maybe it will be best if we don’t because I might be tempted to get myself in trouble!!
    I bet those gypsies go over there regularly to let the dogs chase the many rabbits you can find over there. I mus admit I have never ever seen them before though and we have been walking there for about thirteen years now.

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    Awkward. They are naturally ribby, and I believe if you are showing them you should be able to ‘read the ribs’ but there’s a difference between that look and starving them to ‘make them hunt.’ Being cowed is hardly a good sign either.

    I expect you’ll never see them again, but the memory will be haunting, as it would be for me and for most of us. I don’t think there was an obvious cause of action though because they are not your animals, and I expect it all happened very quickly. I don’t think I’d have felt like I was in a position to do anything, for what it’s worth.

  5. Patty says:

    Ohhh, this upsets me terribly! I do not know what the policy is in Britain, but here in Maine one could write down the license number of the vehicle and take it to the authoritiies. They would run a “check” to determine ownership and address of the owner. Then the ASPCA would send investigators to look at the living conditions and the overall health of the animals. But like I said, I have no clue as to the animal cruelty/neglect laws in Britain. As far as animal abuse/child abuse, I have ZERO tolerance. It makes me so very, very sad. 😦

  6. Bilbo aka OS. says:

    Patty. These were gypsies. In the UK, they’re a law unto themselves. Their vehicles won’t be registered to anyone other than the person they bought it off. The police give up before they start. Too much hassle.

    Jan did the right thing. No, it’s not nice but we can’t put the world to right all the time as much as we’d like to. It’s one of those things you put down to experience.

    Bilbo. X

  7. Jan says:

    Thank you, Bilbo. 🙂 I do spend too much time wanting to put the world to right and getting very depressed because I can’t manage it! I get very upset where animals are concerned!

  8. Stephen Foster says:

    Bilbo is good at the common sense, Jan. He often gives me an unwanted lecture on its virtues, lectures which invariably include the expression, ‘a middle-class gayer like you wouldn’t understand, you useless waste of space.’ : )

  9. Bilbo says:

    ” an unwanted lecture”

    You know you love my lectures. They bring that silly grin to your face, and often warrant one of your daft laughs. That’s why I lecture you. 😉

    BX

  10. Bilbo says:

    BTW…are you coming over saturday? Are you staying here? Are Philip and Jackson Fosterboy coming?

  11. Jan says:

    i love it! Bet you are the best of friends really! 🙂

  12. Stephen Foster says:

    Graham and Matty and I are coming for the match but not staying as things stand. Weren’t you sorting Shaffers for apres-Villa.

    The Mogul is on tour with Tinchy, so not expecting to see him.

  13. Daftburger says:

    Gypsies train dogs to return home and then sell them to punters for a couple of hundred quid. Once the dogs are let out by the buyer they return to the Gypsies, a bit like homing pidgeons.

    If you live in an area of outstanding natural beauty Gypsies will probably be there for a while.

    Jan be careful, I find it’s best to just stop thinking about putting the world to rights and the pain soon goes away. Alcochol numbs the pain.

    I read the Daily Mail don’t you know.

  14. Bilbo says:

    Righteeo. The Veella game it is then. Not Shaffers after that debacle last time. Swiss had another run in with them when he took the family there. They ‘threw’ coke over a couple of the meals and then took ages to sort it. Maybe for the odd meal when there’s just a few of us. This one is for the serve-yoursen-chinese up at the Milehouse. I’m reckoning on about 22 of us for my b’day. Philip is a must for this one so make the neccesary or I won’t forgive you! He’s ma boy. Trezza too aswell.

    I’ll see you outside D’s this time.

    BX

  15. Stephen Foster says:

    All noted. Shame about Shaffers, that’s what you get for doing away with the services of a quality Maitre d’ : chaos.

  16. Patty Gross says:

    Oh, I understand now. I really didn’t know anything about gypsies. It’s just my nature to become very emotional where animals are concerned….but I do realize I cannot stop all the pain in the world. Thanks so much OS for helping me out here!!! You’re such a sweetie!!! 🙂

  17. Jan says:

    Good job I didnt run off with that lovely doggie then!!

    I dunno about an area of ‘outstanding beauty’ lol but some of it aint bad!! 🙂
    Some of the fields round here are full of gypsy horses and I have often wanted to run off with some of those too!!

    I tried alcohol and it doesnt work!! lol

Comments are closed.