Eric Rohmer

French New Wave film maker, died yesterday, age 89. At one point in my life I liked to drop Rohmer’s name into conversation as a demonstration of how avante garde I was. I went to see a couple of his works in an arts cinema set in a brutalist housing scheme in Bloomsbury Square. I remember the films being beautiful to look at, usually involving a young couple sitting under a tree in the sun-dappled light talking about nothing for hours on end, pausing only occasionally to silently and angrily dip le croissant into le tasse grand du cafe au lait. This was quite dull but at a certain point the girl would get undressed and there would be sex. The girl would, of course, be a lovingly-shot beautiful Gauloises-addicted French gamine (c/f Eugiene, winner of School of Saatchi), ergo the wait was worth it. In any event I seldom stepped into that cinema without enjoying a one-skinner beforehand so these memories are rather fuzzy. Hyperventilating luvvie appreciation (a classic of its kind) by Gilbert Adair from the Guardian here.

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Eric Rohmer

  1. calvininjax says:

    My nights off when I worked at The Birmingham Post were often spent at the Midland Arts Centre, where I saw Rohmer’s Conte d’hiver and Conte d’été — that is yer actual French, as Kenneth Williams used to say.

    My all-time favourite Rohmer film is Claire’s Knee.

    Like you say, his films were always beautifully shot and had an intriguing take on the human condition.

  2. markelt says:

    I’m just hoping ‘one skinner’ is a joint.

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    What else could it possibly be?

    And why have you had nothing amusing to say about ‘Claire’s Knee’?

  4. Daftburger says:

    I used to have a girlfriend called Claire and her knee’s were always best how you’d like the chippy to be on your way home from the pub late at night!

  5. calvininjax says:

    I had thought about doing a follow up to Claire’s Knee. The working title was Arthur’s Ankle but I couldn’t find any backers, so it went the way of my scheme to reconstruct the Great Pyramid of Giza in the backyard.

Comments are closed.