Giorgio Morandi

This entry was posted in Unpublished Novel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Giorgio Morandi

  1. Patty Gross says:

    I like it. I think I could paint it. I wouldn’t get an exhibit or money though. What is it? I mean an oil, pastel……what does it represent? I have so much to learn.

  2. chiffs says:

    I love Morandi. The spaces in between things were as important to him as the objects themselves – having said that, I don’t see much space between these!

  3. Daftburger says:

    Maybe they weren’t that important!

    Isn’t art what the viewer perceives it to be?

    To me it looks like one of those magician tricks where they pour different coloured liquids out of the one jug……..just like that……..then again I’m a philistine! 🙂

  4. George S says:

    Hard to say why some things are beautiful but I think this is, as is a deal of Morandi. Hard to say, but it’s always worth trying.

    So.

    From one point of view there’s a sort of protectiveness about the jug with her four little cups, but then again the dark jug does somewhat remind me of a raven or a crow. But it isn’t really that – not the metaphors and images, or at least not chiefly that. It may be that Morandi deals in small, quiet objects but in an oddly monumental space. He is always understated. The colours – if those are the actual colours (you can never tell with reproductions and photographs) – generally fall within a narrow range. The sense of restraint is strong, but the outlines are a bit wobbly, as though a wind were making them shiver.

    You might well think this is OTT, but what do we do when asked why something appeals to us except try and explain it by analogy? One could just refuse to try but what’s the point of that? It’s not what human beings do.

    I have always thought we should try, and blow the rest.

  5. OS says:

    George, now I know why you’re a celebrated poet. I looked at and saw a large black jug, a glass of blackcurrent and one of orange juice and two glasses of milk which I thought were out of place apart from they are drinks.

    Mother Jug and her four little adopted children. I quite like that analogy. BTW, I wouldn’t argue with mother jug. It looks as though she could have quite a bite, as most women can when they’re protecting their brood.

    Billy.

  6. johnnyneptune says:

    i preferred his 80s musical output

    ‘we’ll always be together…’

  7. Stephen Foster says:

    A bit on him for Patty (though George says more, I think)

    Giorgio Morandi lived in the same family studio in Bologna all his life, rarely left Italy, and painted the same set of ordinary objects – vases, pitchers, boxes, shells, and other ordinary objects. You can see some of the very same objects in paintings ranging from the 1910s to the 1960s. Some people thought of him as a sort of saint or monk. But he wasn’t a total isolate. He was in touch with the modernist painting movements of his time, and his influences range from Piero della Francesca to Cezanne and Giorgio di Chirico. He simply focused on the internal aspects of painting, limiting his narrative, his subject matter, even his palette, to focus on teasing the composition, paint treatment, and the edges of his paintings. His most famous quote is, “Nothing is more abstract than reality.”

    (This is lifted from elsewhere and does not represent the work of S Foster ; )

  8. chiffs says:

    Someone once told me he was a Fascist. Can someone else now tell me he wasn’t, to cancel it out?

  9. johnnyneptune says:

    chiffs, he wasn’t a fascist

  10. Patty Gross says:

    Thanks so much to all of you…..Stephen I think I’m beginning to get it, and to actually appreciate his work. The first thing I did notice, which chiffs mentioned, was the space between the glasses. I do like this painting….something about it that draws me to it! You are all so kind to the likes of me, and I truly appreciate it. 🙂

  11. OS says:

    Based on George’s comments ( which I very much appreciated because he talked us through the painting in a way that was understandable, unlike winger who just sticks up a painting and expects ‘us’ to see what he sees 😉 ) and ChiffS who gave us the space hint, here are a few thoughts on appreciation of abstract and the finer arts.

    I would say. First of all, the critic (is that the proper word?) needs to have a brain that is capable of lateral thought. It may be, for those who really appreciate abstract art, lateral thought is the primary function of the brain. They see things differently from normal folk.

    What are ‘normal folk’? Those of us who are not on the same wavelength as the artist or artistes: those of us who see simple beauty in ordinary things. That doesn’t mean that those who are appreciative of abstract art don’t also see simple beauty. However, even us ‘simple folk’ are capable of appreciation of the finer arts and abstract art if it’s explained to us.

    Another side issue. Fascists are not devoid of talent. I visited the Olympic Stadium in Berlin with winger and a few other guys. Speer was the architect who designed it. It really is a fabulous place. Some art is above politics.

    Here’s a pic of the inside of the Olympic Stadium, which I think is fascinating.

    GGOS.

Comments are closed.