Holding Post

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Holding Post

  1. Geraldine says:

    3D rectangles?

  2. OS says:

    errrrr? Wot is anybody supposed to say? I’m (desperately) trying to think of something positive. Errrr…wot Geraldine said?

    GGOS.

  3. johnnyneptune says:

    oh come on, it’s playing with your ideas of space – this is the space that’s underneath your chair – areas of “empty” that you can’t really use because something is using the area around them.

    i saw these at the sensations exhibition and they were ace.

    i like rachel whiteread’s stuff a lot.

  4. chiffs says:

    Me too! They remind me of jelly cubes – as kids we used to sneak in the pantry and scoff the lot. I didn’t make the connection between the cubes and actual jelly for a long time.

  5. Daftburger says:

    They could also be portable toilets!

    Please replace lid after use!

    Pulis in (to the portable toilets! :-))

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    They’re actually casts of the negative space contained in the underside of chairs.

    I can hardly wait for OS’s response to this revelation.

  7. chiffs says:

    er, I think Johhny Neptune broke that news earlier . . .

  8. Stephen Foster says:

    I’m trying to wrote a novel. Don’t expect me to notice stuff.

  9. OS says:

    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh! Now I understand. And it’s thought provoking. Considering the value of space in most homes or offices, that space really is wasted. Well, almost. Most chairs sit under tables which also have negative space, so the chairs are really only eating up negative space as is. Not so clever now, is it. 😉

    GGOS.

  10. Daftburger says:

    Chairs or comodes?

  11. Mark Elt says:

    Either Aldous Huxley or Eric Morecambe once observed that the true essence of music isn’t the notes but the spaces between them.

    Physicists think much the same way about stuff.

  12. Stephen Foster says:

    We have some post-structural patter about that for writing. It’s all about the liminality of the white spaces between the words. Julia Kristeva, I think.

  13. Stephen Foster says:

    I wouldn’t want a negative of the space in the OS Commode, though it could win the Turfer Prize.

  14. Patty Gross says:

    Can’t negative space be a good thing? I find blank space(s) very peaceful, the opposite of clutter. It’s like my mind which is certainly a splendid example of negative space. But it’s very peaceful too. Then reality snaps me back to the clutter in my home and I’m forced to do housework. UGH, UGH, UGH!!!!!

  15. Patty Gross says:

    Stephen, speaking of writing, which you were….how is your newest book coming along? I am very anxious to read it, but I realize you have to write it first.

  16. evonglan says:

    splendid work by one of my favourite artists, also first saw it at SENSATION where it stood out as very still and very beautiful

Comments are closed.