The Freewheelin’ b&w Dylan

Trust me, it’s as cold as it looks up at Winterton dunes. Back home it’s a struggle to get out of bed, where I can stay snug with Dylan tucked in beside me keeping my legs warm while I read my new Christmas book, Eleven Kinds of Loneliness, short stories by Richard Yates, writer of Revolutionary Road, which I have neither seen nor read, yet. The first three stories are very, very good. The setting is New York in the forties/fifties; as I was jogging with Dylan this morning (lunchtime) I was thinking how they remind me of Mad Men. Like that brilliant show, these stories are set in a world where oh so many social rules and codes, while still in place, are on the point of breaking down. Perfect material for a writer. One of the difficulties we (I) have in writing today is that there’s no longer an oppressive established order to oppose and undermine, something everyone recognises, an obvious counterpoint on which to focus your writerly anger.

Never mind writerly anger; note instead the tidiness of my sideboards

This entry was posted in Unpublished Novel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Freewheelin’ b&w Dylan

  1. makemeadiva says:

    Jeez that’s a deep thought for the holidays.

    Love the sideboards Dylan – you are a true style icon 🙂

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    & if he was a girl, he’d be a diva too ; )

    My thoughts are mainly like that. It’s annoying.

  3. Liffey says:

    Happy New Year! My Mum read the book about Ollie, and was pleased to find your blog.

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    Thanks Liffey, welcome to the blog : )

  5. OS says:

    Why are you wanting to be angry, Boy? Didn’t you have enough of that stuff when you buggered off from Stoke?

    Half of Dills looks happy.

    GGOS.X

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    Like goalkeepers, writers are always tremendously disillusioned and harboring a grudge about something. It’s what keeps us going ; )

  7. OS says:

    In other words, you’re just a miserable b’stard. You need a bacon sandwich. 😉

    M. le etc…

  8. Patty Gross says:

    I am just testing to see if this reply makes it through. Have I been banned? I’ve tried numerous times to post, but nothing happens. 😦

  9. Patty Gross says:

    Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, I wonder how that happened? First reply I’ve had go through for days. Anyway, looks like it’s over now.

    Dylan looks marvelous!! He’s such an athlete. I think dogs are too busy to be angry….that’s not always a good thing for humans though. Sometimes we have a perfect right, an obligation even, to protest injustices! HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!

  10. Stephen Foster says:

    Must have been a glitch in the system Patty, you would never receive the Ban!!

    Happy New year! xx

  11. OS says:

    Welcome back from your ‘ban’, Patty. Happy New Year.

Comments are closed.